Skip to content

Super Mario Cake

02/23/2011

DSC_0778

My husband just celebrated his 37th birthday. Right after his 36th birthday, he told me that he wanted a Mario cake for this one. That’s right, my 37 year old husband wanted a video game cake. Not just any video game, the best game ever!! I loved Mario when I was a kid and hubs and I will still break it out every now and then.

I was so excited about it, that I have been looking at pictures of cakes and the figures for a whole year. Trust me when I tell you that there are some scary looking cakes on the web. I did not want to be one of those cakes. I am not a professional, but as it turns out, I have a knack for cake work. I did not want to be one of the ugly Mario cakes out there.

This cake was definitely a labor of love. I was so excited to make this for hubby—even if it did take me three days to make! I have already started working on next year’s cake—I can’t wait.DSC_0760DSC_0770DSC_0769

I knew that I wanted to include some of the major Mario characters. I had the pictures taped to the cabinets and got busy making all of the little pieces. I did the goombas, turtles, mushrooms, bob-ombs, stars, and the coins.

For the background, I wanted to do some of the hills, bushes and bricks. I used a flower cutter for the clouds and some of the smaller bushes. I cut the other bush pieces free hand. I measured and cut the pipe tunnels and used my shiny new brick mat for the brick parts. I cut yellow squares for the question mark boxes.

For the top of the cake, I wanted to do the 1-UP mushroom. Originally, I had wanted to do a Mario popping out of the cake. Not having much sculpting practice, I was afraid that it would not come out right and I would be one of those ugly Mario cakes.

DSC_0762DSC_0763DSC_0764DSC_0765

I used rice krispies for the mushroom. I molded the top in a big silver bowl. I did have to round out the top because the bottom was flat. I used a 6 inch round cake pan for the bottom. They got a crumb coating of frosting before I covered it with fondant. It was so much easier than I thought it would be—I can’t wait to try more krispy treat things to make!

When all of the pieces were finished, it was time to stack it up and add all of the characters. The cake was chocolate with buttercream and covered in MMF. I used plastic dowels in the layers for support. The most fun was seeing the side of the cake come together to look like a scene from a Mario game.

DSC_0771DSC_0782DSC_0803DSC_0805DSC_0807DSC_0808DSC_0810

Even though it took me forever to finish this, it was my favorite cake that I have done so far. I loved the theme and the fact that it was for my hubby. I thought the pieces all came together to look great. And it tasted delish! I love doing fondant work on cakes and can’t wait to do more! Enjoy!!

 

DSC_0773DSC_0775DSC_0778

 

 

Meg

4 Comments leave one →
  1. 07/11/2011 11:45 am

    BEAUTIFUL work!!! My son would love this cake! This looks so good! Thanks for sharing.

  2. ZantiniDreams permalink
    07/12/2011 8:16 pm

    I love this cake! I want to make a 1-up cake for my son’s birthday and I was looking for some inspiration when I came across your Super Mario cake…WOW! You are very talented! Were the smaller pieces made out of the MMF as well?

  3. 07/19/2011 5:20 am

    thanks so much! the smaller pieces were actually a mix of store bought fondant and gumpaste. I wanted them to dry hard so they would stand on their own.

Trackbacks

  1. Rubik’s Cube Cake « Meg's Lovey Cakes

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 70 other followers

