Skip to content

Dallas Cowboy Cheerleader Cake

03/16/2011

dsc_0870

Is there a  better way to say happy birthday than with a boob cake?!? Hubs’ cousin is a big Cowboys fan. He is also a fan of boobs. The idea was a no brainer. I knew that when we talked about a party for him, we would do a football theme and a cowboys cheerleader cake. It was definitely the star of the party! The cakes were all red velvet with cream cheese frosting and it was all covered in fondant.

This was actually the second set of boobs I had done. I learned a lot from the first ones. This time around, I had the boobs on two 6 inch round cake boards that had been glued together and wrapped. That made them much easier to move around. I used the Wilton sports ball pan to make the boobs. It was the perfect size and perfectly round. I crumb coated the boobs and and covered them in the fondant that I had colored a flesh color.

dsc_0818dsc_0824dsc_0826

The next part was all just cutting the fondant to look like the cheerleader uniforms. I had looked at a ton of pictures—some really good and some just awful. I wanted mine to look like the uniform and to just be recognizable as a Dallas Cowboy cheerleader.Before I could get the uniform in place, I had to make them look a tad bit more real. I used two dots on toothpicks and the boobs were officially done. I put down the blue and then cut the white. I cut a collar and made the tie for the front. I had a small start cutter for the stars and it was almost done.

The last thing to do was the fringe. I just cut a strip of white, fringed it and popped it under the boobs. I did roll tiny balls of white fondant to stick to the fringe and then stuck a silver ball in them to make it pop.

dsc_0866dsc_0867dsc_0869

The finished product was not only tasty, but looked pretty good too—at least I thought so! Smile I did dowel the cake to support the boobs. Since it was a red velvet and not the stiffest of cakes, I didn’t want them to sag…ha. If you have a cowboys fan, they are sure to get a kick out of this cake! Enjoy!!

 

 

dsc_0875

dsc_0876

 

Meg

7 Comments leave one →
  1. 04/11/2011 4:55 pm

    how many people did this cake feed?

  2. jaymie permalink
    01/10/2013 6:51 pm

    Awesome

  3. jaymie permalink
    01/10/2013 6:57 pm

    How Did you make the natural color foundant?

    • 01/11/2013 9:41 pm

      I used a flesh gel color to tint the white.

  4. Priscilla Angel permalink
    05/10/2013 5:17 pm

    what size is the bottom cake and did u use anything in between them

    • 05/15/2013 8:27 pm

      Hey there! I am not sure of the size. It was a set of oval pans and it was the biggest one in the set that I used. The boobs are just sitting on top. I did have a round cake board under them . I may have put a dowel in the cake to support the weight of the boobs. Thanks for stopping by! :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 69 other followers

