Skip to content

Cocoa Rice Krispy Treats

08/10/2011

DSC_0103

What to do when you see cocoa krispies on sale at Piggly Wiggly?? Make cocoa rice krispy treats, of course!! Seriously one of the easiest things to make and always a yummy treat! Since these involve no baking and all you have to do is melt and mix, I think it is safe to say rice krispy treats are the easiest sweet treat to make. Smile

I don’t think that I had ever actually eaten cocoa krispies. I have had the plain ones bunches of times, but surprisingly, not the chocolate version.  After these, we are new fans!

DSC_0090DSC_0093

I always double the recipe and always, always, always use jet-puffed marshmallows! Another trick I have is to use 5 extra marshmallows per batch. I hate getting bad treats with not enough marshmallows, so I like to add a few more to my batches! The small bags only had about 38 in each so I added in a small handful of the mini ones. Add in the melted butter and pop the whole bowl in the microwave.

DSC_0095DSC_0096DSC_0097

When the marshmallows and butter are melted and fluffy, add it to the krispies. I spray my spoon and cookie sheet with pam so that it won’t stick to the marshmallows. Sometimes I get in the mix with my hands to make sure it is really well mixed up and all of the cereal is coated. I will use a pat of butter rubbed all over my hands so that they are not coated in a sticky mess. When all mixed, I pour it on the cookie sheet and press it out in an even layer on the pan. Again, I use butter on my hands so that it won’t stick to me. Let it cool and that is all she wrote!!

The overall flavor was not that chocolaty, but we loved them. Hubs even said that he liked these more than the original. I can’t wait to make these in football shapes for game day treats! The best part about these is that you don’t need a special occasion—they are good everyday!!  Enjoy!

 

Cocoa Rice Krispy Treats

Ingredients

  • 3 tablespoons   butter or margarine
  • 1 package   (10 oz., about 40) regular marshmallows (I use 45)
  • 6 cups   Ready-To-Eat Cereal Cocoa Krispies™
  • Directions

    In a microwave-safe bowl heat butter and marshmallows on HIGH for 3 minutes, stirring after 2 minutes. Stir until smooth.  Add KELLOGG’S COCOA KRISPIES cereal. Stir until well coated.
    Using buttered spatula or wax paper evenly press mixture into a pan coated with cooking spray. Cool. Cut into pieces and enjoy.

    DSC_0106DSC_0107

    Meg

    No comments yet

    Leave a Reply

        Follow

    Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

    Join 70 other followers

