Skip to content

Double Chocolate Chip Cookies

04/25/2012

DSC_0475

Cookies  are always welcome in our home. I could have cookies everyday. I love pretty much any kind. Cookies are like chips for me, it is hard to have just one. I have really great recipes for chocolate chip, oatmeal and peanut butter cookies. I have been thinking for a week or so that I needed a double chocolate chip cookie in my baking bag. After poking around for some recipes, I found a winner.

This is a great cookie. Not having made a double chocolate cookie before, I really didn’t know what to expect from this recipe. It has quite a bit of cocoa powder in it and is not overly sweet. The things that make this a totally rad cookie is that it is chewy, soft and sooooo chocolaty.

 

DSC_0453DSC_0454

Most cookies want the butter at room temp, or even melted. This one wants it cold and cubed. It goes in the mixer with the sugar and is whipped around until it is thick and fluffy.

 

DSC_0457DSC_0458DSC_0459DSC_0460

Add in the eggs and make sure they are all mixed in. Sift in the cocoa powder. Once that is in, the dough will be very dark and still pretty soft. Give that a whirl and then sift in the flour.

 

DSC_0461DSC_0462

The last thing to go in is the chips. I always do a mix of semi-sweet and milk chocolate chips. I used the fold setting on my mixer to add them into the dough. Once the chips are in, I got my hands in the dough and mixed it all up—just to make sure it was all mixed really well. . The dough is very thick and crazy sticky.

 

DSC_0463DSC_0465

I used the bigger cookie scoop to plop them on the cookie sheet. I just used my hand to roughly smash them down. The cookies don’t spread very much and will pretty much keep the shape they have when they go in the oven.

 

DSC_0476

 

DSC_0473

 

These cookies are great. They are loaded with chocolate flavor and, but are not sickeningly sweet. They are thick, fluffy and chewy all at the same time. I am so glad that I found these and will definitely be adding these to my cookie jar! Enjoy!!

 

Double Chocolate Chip Cookies 

(recipe adapted from www.lovefromtheoven.com)

Ingredients

1 cup (2 sticks) cold, unsalted butter, cubed

1¼ cup sugar

2 large eggs

½ cup dark cocoa powder

2¼ cups all-purpose flour

¼ tsp. kosher salt

1 tsp. baking powder

1½ cups semi-sweet chocolate chips

1 1/2 cups milk chocolate chips

 

Directions

Preheat the oven to 350˚ F.  In the bowl of an electric mixer, combine the butter and sugar using a paddle attachment.  Beat together on medium-high speed until light and fluffy, 2-3 minutes.  Blend in the eggs one at a time, scraping down the bowl as needed.  Sift in the cocoa powder until well blended.

Add the flour, salt and baking powder to the bowl and mix on low speed just until incorporated.  Fold in the chocolate chips.Use a cookie scoop to put them on a sheet, leaving about 2 inches between the cookies.

Bake for about 12 minutes.  Remove from pan and let cool on a wire rack. Enjoy!!

 

DSC_0470

 

DSC_0481

 

Meg

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 70 other followers

