Skip to content

Petits Fours

06/24/2012

DSC_0686

Before school got out for the summer, a teacher came to me asking if I made petits fours. 

*Gasp*

Petits fours scare me. To me, they are one of those things that people have such opinions over.

Petits fours are meant to be moist, delicious bites of sweet cake. But, trust me, there are some really bad ones out there. Having never made them before, I was totally terrified. I didn’t want to be one of those dry, cracky, yuck petits fours.

I don’t know why I was so scared. These were far easier than I thought they would be. But, at the same time, they were far more time consuming than I thought they would be. They came out sweet, light, moist and the perfect bite of cake.

 

DSC_0668DSC_0661DSC_0655

The first thing you need is a white cake. I made mine in a small rectangle pan and then in a cookie sheet.

The sheet worked great, especially since I had a big order of them. I froze the cake in the pan for a few hours. I took it out and let it sit for a few minutes.

Rub the top of the cake with powdered sugar before flipping it out on the counter. (The sugar helps it not stick)

I used my square cutter to measure and used the ruler to cut the cake into strips. I had already trimmed the edges of the cake before I started on the strips.

 

DSC_0656

I used a cookie rack over a bowl for the pouring part. After I mixed the glaze, I poured it into a 4 cup measuring cup. This made the pouring process a lot easier for me.

 

DSC_0662

The cake pieces got 3-4 coats of glaze. The first coat is essentially the crumb coat—just want to get it covered. I would let them dry over the bowl. Once they had stopped dripping, it was time for the next coat. The slower I poured, the more covered they got. Make sure to get all of the edges of cake. You don’t want any bare edges!

 

DSC_0657

Because I covered mine over a bowl, it was easy for me to save all of the glaze. Make sure to strain it after each coating.

You can see from the picture the chunks of cake that fall into the bowl. You don’t want those staying in the glaze and making the petits fours look clumpy.

 

 

 

DSC_0692

DSC_0665

DSC_0702

 

Once they are all glazed and dry to the touch, they are ready to be put in papers and packed up. Or they are ready to be popped in your mouth. I must say that my nervousness about making these was silly. They were time consuming, but quite easy.

I was very proud of myself for making these. They are such a southern staple at showers and receptions—glad that I know how to make them now!!  And, these were absolutely divine!! The cake melted in your mouth and the glaze was the perfect topping. Can’t wait to make more!! Enjoy!!

 

Petits Fours Glaze

2 lbs of powdered sugar

2/3 plus 2 Tblsp water

1 teaspoon clear vanilla

 

Mix the sugar, water and vanilla in a bowl with a whisk. Keep stirring until it is a pourable glaze. Slowly pour over cake. Repeat until cake is coated. 

This glaze will lend itself to lots of flavor variations like lemon, orange, or almond.

 

DSC_0731

 

DSC_0733

 

Meg

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 70 other followers

