Skip to content

Candy Corn Cupcakes

10/08/2009

DSC_0583So, I was all excited to rush home after work and bake my creation. Normally I am a straight recipe girl—following every step precisely, reading it a million time to make sure I don’t skip a step. This time I decided to be wild and add  my own touches. What a rebel I am.

Parts of it were great. The cake recipes I found was super yummy—moist, light and what you would expect from a vanilla cake. The frosting was, according to my husband, “rad.” We just were not sure of them together. We decided that the frosting would be amazing with strawberries and used to frost a layer cake. It was just a tad too sticky to eat on a cupcake.

Now to make it fun, I decided to put candy corns in the cake batter. Did I not think that they would just melt and sink to the bottom?? Oh well, it was fun to try. I broke up pieces and mixed in each cupcake. If I try this again, I will add them half way through the baking. Maybe then they will not sink to the bottom and get crunchy.

While they didn’t taste like candy corns, they were a good cupcake. I can’t wait to use the frosting on a layer cake! Maybe I will use it for my birthday cake! 🙂 I will definitely be using these recipes again.  Enjoy!

Recipe for cupcake from www.bakingbites.com

DSC_0581Vanilla Cupcakes
1 1/3 cups AP flour
1 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
1 cup sugar
1/2 cup butter, room temperature
2 large eggs
1 tsp vanilla extract
3/4 cup whole milk

candy corns to drop in cakes

Preheat oven to 350F. Line a 12-cup muffin pan with paper liners.
In a large bowl, whisk together flour, baking powder and salt.

In a medium bowl, cream together butter and sugar, until fluffy. Beat in eggs, one at a time, followed by vanilla extract.

Stir in flour mixture and milk in two or three alternating additions, ending with an addition of flour. Stir only until just combined and no streaks of flour remain. (once it was mixed, I finished stirring by hand so that it was not over mixed)

Distribute batter evenly into prepared muffin cups. This was when I added the candy corns. I broke them up by hand and dropped a few in each cup before baking.

Bake for 16-19 minutes, until a toothpick inserted into the center of a cupcake comes out clean. (I baked mine for about 21 minutes)
Cool completely on a wire rack before frosting.
Bakes 12-cupcakes. ( I got 16 cupcakes)

Marshmallow Cream Cheese Frosting  DSC_0584

8-oz cream cheese, room temperature
1 7 oz. jar of marshmallow fluff
1 tsp vanilla extract

1/2 –1 cup of sifted powdered sugar ( I added the sugar because the frosting tasted too much like cream cheese. It was actually very yummy! I also added 1 tsp of milk because it was too stiff)

 

 

DSC_0587In a large bowl, beat together cream cheese, marshmallow fluff and vanilla extract until light and fluffy. Add sifted powdered sugar and mix until fluffy. Add milk 1 teaspoon at a time if frosting seems to stiff. Spread onto cooled cupcakes using an offset spatula, or pipe on using a piping bag.

 

 

 

 

DSC_0588

 

 

See all the piece and how they just sank to the bottom.

Oh well! At least I had cute Halloween cupcake liners! 🙂

 

 DSC_0590

 

The frosting piped out well.

Was very shiny and sticky but tasted yum!

 

 

 

 

DSC_0592

 

 

The finished product. Even though they didn’t taste like candy corns, I still plopped one on top!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

