Skip to content

Caramel Snack Mix

10/17/2009

DSC_0659

Ok, first things first—the word is pronounced Car-mul, not Care-uh-mel. I don’t know why that bugs me, but it does!

For some reason, when I see the word caramel in a recipe, I freak out.  Caramel makes me think of candy thermometers and of a big sticky mess. Caramel is right up there with pie crusts and biscuits for me—it’s like my Everest.

Don’t let this recipe scare you at all. It is nothing but easy to whip up and taste better than yummy!! I took it to work for a treat day and it was gone before lunch. My husband and I were eating it right off the pan before it was even baked. I will so be adding this to my list of goodies to make for parties, game days, and holidays! Enjoy!!

Meg

Caramel Snack Mix

adapted from www.iheartfood4thought.com

INGREDIENTS

12 cups Crispex Cereal (about 1 1/2 boxes)
3/4 cup light corn syrup
1 stick of butter
1 cup packed light brown sugar
Dash of salt (I used coarse grain salt)
3/4 of a bag of pretzel sticks

2 cups pecan halves*
1 cup honey roasted peanuts*
(I used a small can of peanuts)

1 cup M&M candies* (I used 2 big bags of plain m&m candies)
1 cup mini marshmallows*
( I used about 3/4 of the bag)

* You can adjust the amount to your taste. I just kinda throw as much or as little as I want in. You can add other nuts and chocolates that you like too.

INSTRUCTIONS

Preheat oven to 250F.

Line a very large roasting pan (or two rimmed cookie sheets) with foil and lightly spray with PAM.

In a medium size sauce pan over low/medium low heat, stir together the syrup, butter and brown sugar. Stir constantly until melted and sugar has dissolved. Place the cereal, pecans, pretzels and honey roasted nuts into a big mixing bowl. I sprayed my bowl with PAM to just make sure it didn’t stick. Carefully pour the brown sugar mixture over the cereal and nuts. Use a buttered (or PAMed) spatula to toss and coat the cereal and nuts completely with the brown sugar mixture. Sprinkle lightly with salt. Once mixed, spread the mix evenly between the two prepared cookie sheets.

Bake for 45 minutes removing every 10 minutes to gently toss with a buttered spatula to ensure even baking/browning. While snack mix is baking, spread a few large sheets of parchment paper on counter. After mixture has finished baking, turn mixture out onto parchment making sure to spread out to prevent large clumps to cool. Gently toss every 10 minutes to prevent further clumping together, breaking up clumps as needed. Store in airtight container.

When you are ready to serve, add m&m candies and mini marshmallows.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

