Skip to content

Candy Corn Cupcakes 2

11/08/2009

DSC_0762The first time I tried to make candy corn cupcakes didn’t work out so well. Since my first  brilliant idea was a flop, I was determined to not let the cupcakes get the best of me! I decided to make cupcakes with a play on the color of candy corns. This way turned out much better. Instead of having crunchy candy corn bits trapped on the bottom of the cupcake, I had beautiful orange and yellow cake with a big dollop of white frosting.

Of all the cupcakes that I have made, these were the most dense. Some of the cakes have seemed too light, but these were nice and thick. The first time I made them, I thought that they needed more butter flavor so I added some in place of the vanilla. They came out moist and delish.

DSC_0782They were super easy to whip up. Once I had the batter made, I divided it up into two bowls. I used orange and yellow Wilton gel colorings to get the colors that I wanted.  I filled all the cups with yellow and then topped them with a bit of orange. They baked up beautifully and had nice big tops on them. Once they were cooled, I topped them with a giant swirl of white buttercream frosting. I took these to work and made some for the family. Everyone DSC_0755raved over the taste and how cute they different colors were. I thought that they tasted great and loved the play on candy corns. I will so be using this recipe as a go to butter cake recipe. Because the batter is thick, it held the colors and did not run. You could use this recipe with any  colors and it will turn out great. Enjoy!!

Meg

recipe adapted from www.iheartcuppycakes.com

DSC_0764Makes about 18 cupcakes

INGREDIENTS

For cupcakes
2-1/2 cups AP flour
3 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1-1/2 cup sugar
12 tbsp (1-1/2 sticks) butter, room temperature
2 large egg + 2 egg white, room temperature
2 tsp vanilla extract (I used 1 tsp of vanilla and 1 tsp of butter flavor instead)
1 cup milk
food coloring:  orange and yellow—I used Wilton gel colorings

For the frosting

2 lbs  Confectioners Sugar, sifted
1 cup butter, softened
1/3 cup heavy cream
1 TBLSP. vanilla (for white frosting, use clear vanilla)

Using a  stand mixer, cream butter until fluffy. Slowly add sifted powdered sugar and blend well after each addition. Slowly add cream and beat faster until you get a light and fluffy frosting. Add vanilla and beat until blended. Frost cake or cupcakes immediately or refrigerate until ready to use bringing the frosting to room temp.

INSTRUCTIONS

To make cupcakes—
Preheat oven to 350F. Line cupcake pan with paper liners.

In a large bowl, sift flour, baking powder and salt. Set aside. In a stand mixer, fitted with flat beater, beat the sugar and butter until well combined, about 2-3 minutes. Add eggs and egg whites, one at a time, beating on low. Then add vanilla. Gradually add flour mixture in 3 additions, alternating with milk in 2 additions, ending with the flour mixture. Divide the batter into 2 different DSC_0784bowls. Add food coloring to the  bowls and mix to combine until you get the vibrant color you want. Add the yellow color first to the cupcake liner  and then top it with the orange batter. Fill the cupcake liners about 2/3rds full.

Bake for about 17-20 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the middle comes out clean. Remove from pan and cool completely on a wire cooling rack.

Use a large round or star tip to frost the cupcakes. Top with a candy corn and enjoy!

DSC_0756DSC_0770

DSC_0767

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

