Skip to content

Cookie Monster Cupcakes

01/31/2010

Now what starts with C? Cookie starts with C. C is for cookie and that’s good enough for me!

DSC_0951I made some cookie monster themed cupcakes for a baby shower at work. This is their second child, but the first boy, so the staff got together and did a baby shower for our mom-to-be. Lucky for me, they asked me to make the cupcakes. See, making all those treats for work does pay off!! Now, people are paying me to make them!!! But, back to the cupcakes…

They had no preference on cake or frosting flavors. Yikes! I am the kind of baker that wants specifics. I want to know size, color, flavor—everything. I don’t do well with being told to just do whatever…I need a plan. So, I asked our mom. I asked her what the theme of the nursery was so that I could hopefully make something to go along with that. When she said that they were doing Cookie Monster, I was a little scared. I didn’t want to do the same kind of cookie monster cupcakes that the grocery stores do…you know, the ones with the blue frosting that looks like hair and a cookie shoved in its mouth. Yeah, not me. Cute, but not me.

DSC_0934 I did a cookies and cream cupcake because cookie monster loves cookies, right?!? (and I had been wanting to practice that recipe!) The cupcakes and the frosting were a cinch to make. The hardest part for me was to not eat the Oreos before I made the cupcakes! How can you go wrong with cake and cookies all topped off with frosting?!? I wanted a frosting that resembled the middle of an Oreo so I went with an all Crisco frosting. I know, all Crisco…eeewww. It really was a perfect match for the cake. Together with the cupcake, it tasted just like an Oreo cookie. I got lots of compliments on them! We thought that they were really yummy and I will so be making these again!

Since the cupcakes were so easy to make, it was ok that the cookie monster faces were so time consuming. Once again, I totally underestimated how long it would take me to get these done. WOW! These little guys were labor intensive. So much so that I have to scrap the idea for bigger faces on the bigger cupcakes and just go with plain frosting!! Most of you out there are probably much faster workers than me. My husband is always telling me that I am not built for speed. What can I say, I am a southerner and we do things at a slower pace!

DSC_0945For the fondant cookie monster faces, I decided to skip the homemade and go with the box of ready to use Wilton fondant. I figured that most people were not going to eat the faces, so why spend the extra time making the fondant when that box is so convenient?!?

With the cakes frosted and the little ones topped with a fondant cookie monster face, these were ready to go. If you are looking for a cookie cupcake, I hope you try this one. It was delicious and I know you will love it! Enjoy!!

cakes adapted from www.lifewithcake.com frosting adapted from www.howtoeatacupcake.net

Cookies and Cream Cupcakes      Yield – 18 regular size cupcakes

Ingredients:

  • 12 tablespoons (1 1/2 sticks) unsalted butter, softened
  • 1 1/2 cups sugar
  • 2 cups all purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 6 large egg whites (3/4 cup)
  • 3/4 cup milk
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1 tablespoon sour cream
  • 15 crushed Chocolate Sandwich cookies

Directions:

1.) Set rack at the middle level in the oven and preheat to 350 degrees.

2.) Line Cupcake tins with papers.

3.) In a large bowl, beat butter and sugar for about 5 minutes, until light and fluffy.

4.) Whisk together flour, baking powder and salt. Set aside.

5.) Combine egg whites, milk, sour cream, and vanilla extract. Add 1/3 of the flour mixture to the butter mixture then add half the milk mixture. Continue to alternate beginning and ending with flour mixture. Scrape the bowl and beater often. Fold in the crushed sandwich cookies.

6.) Scoop 1/3 cup of batter into each cupcake liner. Bake 15-17 minutes until toothpick comes out clean. Remove cupcakes from pan and let cool completely before frosting.

Frosting

2 cups shortening
8 cups confectioners’ sugar sifted
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 teaspoons clear imitation vanilla extract
6 fluid ounces heavy cream
1. Cream shortening until fluffy. Add confectioner’s sugar and continue creaming until well blended.
2. Add salt, vanilla, and whipping cream blend on low speed until moistened. Add additional whipping cream if necessary (up to 2 ounces).
3. Beat at high speed until frosting is fluffy.

Fondant Faces

DSC_0938Using the white fondant, use a toothpick to color it the color that you want. I used Wilton bright blue and black for the faces and the eyes.  Once it was colored, I rolled it to be about 1/8 of an inch thick . Using a crinkle round cutter, I cut the faces from the blue fondant. I used the smallest circle from the round fondant cutter set to do the mouth and I cut the circle in half. I rolled the white and black into little balls for the eyes. The white was the bigger one so that the black would fit on top of it. When all the pieces were cut out, I assembled them with water. Using a small paint brush, I painted water to each piece and stuck them together. I let them dry overnight.  Top them on the frosting and you are good to go!DSC_0943

Meg

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 02/01/2010 9:02 am

    Those so rock. Those are so cool I had to post about them myself. http://www.godwinsq8.com/?p=304

  2. 02/02/2010 1:11 pm

    um, these look amazing!!! what a great job!! i could only dream of making things this pretty!

  3. Nichole permalink
    09/03/2010 3:58 pm

    WOW! My nickname is “Cookie Monster”, so I’m always looking for a new design. These are awesome! I will definetly be trying this recipe! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

