Skip to content

Chocolate Chip Cupcakes

02/22/2010

DSC_0291 While trying to decide what to take in for pot luck day at school, I was totally stumped. I knew it would be a sweet treat of some kind, but didn’t know I so wanted to do a super cute cookie, but also wanted to try a new cupcake. What to do, what to do?!? Hubs said to do my chocolate chip cookies. They are easy and always a hit. I am known at school for my cakes and whipping up a batch is always fun. So, I went for a combo of the two…chocolate chip cupcakes!

Now that I had decided what to make, I had to find a recipe. I have never made this before and don’t think I have even had a chocolate chip cupcake before. I went searching through blogs trying to find a recipe that sounded like a winner. Finally it hit me that I got the Martha Stewart cupcake book for my birthday last year. If any body had a recipe, I knew Martha would!

The recipe was a tad tricky. Mixing the flour and  creaming the butter was the same as always. What got me was the egg whites. Oh egg whites…why do you have to be whipped? Since my butter was in one of my mixer bowls and the other already had the frosting, I had to whip the egg DSC_0284whites by hand. Sheesh. The recipe said to whip until stiff peaks formed—don’t over mix. What in the world does an over mixed egg white look like? I kept going until I thought it was done. Add in the chips and the cupcake was ready to go. I used my larger cookie scoop to fill the liners. The next time I make these, I will fill these more. Some of them were a tad bit too small. The cake came out light and moist. Martha uses a chocolate frosting, but I paired mine with my buttercream frosting and it was super yummy. Work raved over them, hubs loved them, and I will be adding these to the cupcake rotation. Enjoy!!

cupcake recipe adapted from www.marthastewart.com

Ingredients

Makes 30

  • 3 1/4 cups sifted cake flour (not self-rising) (plus and extra 2Tblsp for dusting)
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 7 ounces (1 3/4 sticks) unsalted butter, softened
  • 1 3/4 cups sugar
  • 1 cup plus 2 tablespoons milk
  • 1 tablespoon pure vanilla extract
  • 5 large egg whites, room temperature
  • 2 cups semisweet chocolate chips (I used half semi and half milk)

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line standard muffin tins with paper liners. Whisk dry ingredients in a large bowl. Cream butter and sugar with a mixer until pale in color and fluffy. Toss the chocolate chips with the 2 Tblsp of flour. This will ensure that they are scattered and don’t just sink to the bottom.
  2. Reduce speed to low. Mix the milk with the vanilla. Add dry ingredients to butter mixture in 3 additions, alternating with wet ingredients and ending with dry. Scrape sides of bowl.
  3. Beat egg whites to stiff peaks, and fold into batter. Fold in the floured chocolate chips. Divide batter among muffin cups, filling each 3/4 full. Bake cupcakes about 20 minutes.DSC_0285Let cupcakes cool in tins and then move to wire racks. Once cool, frost with buttercream. I refrigerated mine over night and brought to room temp before serving.

 

 

 

 

 

Buttercream Frosting–this one is my recipe! 🙂

Ingredients
  • 3 sticks of unsalted butter
  • 1 1/2 sticks Crisco shortening
    3lbs  confectioner’s sugar, sifted
    1 1/2 tablespoons clear vanilla extract
    5-7 tablespoons of very cold milk
Instructions
    Cream butter and shortening until smooth. Add clear vanilla extract and mix until combined. Add sifted confectioner’s sugar. Allow confectioner’s sugar to blend well then slowly add milk. Keep whipping the frosting until it is the consistency that you want. The more you mix, the creamier it will be. Spread or pipe on the cupcakes and enjoy!
    DSC_0289
    Meg
7 Comments leave one →
  1. 03/07/2010 7:59 pm

    So how do you get your curly Qs on top so curlyQ-ish? They are awesome!

  2. 03/08/2010 7:35 am

    Thanks!! That would be my jumbo round tip…love that thing! :o)

Trackbacks

  1. Easter Bunny Cake « Meg's Lovey Cakes
  2. Popcorn Cupcakes « Meg's Lovey Cakes
  3. Sunflower Cupcakes « Meg's Lovey Cakes
  4. Team Edward Vampire Cupcakes « Meg's Lovey Cakes
  5. Bubblegum Cupcakes « Meg's Lovey Cakes

Leave a Reply

