Skip to content

TWD #19 Soft Chocolate Raspberry Tart

03/16/2010

DSC_0406

Aahhh, tarts…I love you so. You really can’t go wrong with a chocolate filling in a buttery pecan crust. Normally I don’t do raspberries. Last week’s recipe called for them and I subbed in cherries because I like them more. But, for some reason, I decided to stick to the actual recipe this time. I’m glad I did. That Dorie…she sure knows what she is doing! 🙂

This week’s host was Rachelle of Mommy? I’m Hungry! Stop by her blog to see her beautiful pics and see what she had to say about this tart. She also has the recipe posted for the filling and the crust. Don’t forget that you can always buy the cookbook and have all the recipes!

DSC_0396 There was a ton of discussion at TWD about this week’s pick. Some wanted to sub other fruits, some wanted frozen and some wanted to leave out the fruit all together. I finally gave in and splurged for the fresh berries. I am not a big raspberry fan. Usually I go for blackberries or cherries. I think that the tartness of the raspberries was perfect for this tart. I went perfectly with the chocolate.

DSC_0394 The last time I made a tart, I had some issues with the crust. I still think it was the pan’s fault and not mine that it didn’t work. 🙂 So this time I got to use my mini tart pans. Yay! Why are mini tart pans more fun? I just love them. Next on my last is a rectangle tart pan and the mini square ones. Anyways…the crust was better this time. I still am not sure if I am doing it right. But it does taste good. This time I used chopped pecans in the mix…delish! It was like a buttery pecan cookie. I could have just eaten the crust alone!

DSC_0398 The filling was easy enough to whip up. The recipe says to chop the chocolates and melt them on the stove. It calls for a premium milk and a premium bittersweet. I had a good bittersweet. No milk. Since it was only 2 ounces, I took the easy route and used milk chocolate chips. I don’t think it hurt! Once it was all mixed up it went on top of the berries in the already baked crust. it said to bake for 30 minutes. I figure it would be less since it was a smaller DSC_0399 tart. Wrong. Way wrong. Even with the smaller pan, it had to make for about45 minutes. At least I was not alone with this…lots of the twd-ers had an issue with time. Maybe Dorie has a kick ass oven that cooks better than all of ours!! 😉 When it went in the pan, it was jiggly like pudding. I was beginning to think that it would never bake. Finally it started to turn and look like a brownie.

This one was a winner.  Again, this is something that I would never have made without this group. I am glad that I did. It was the perfect chocolaty treat. The richness of the chocolate, the slight tartness of the fruit and the crunch of the crust all goes perfectly together. It would be great anytime of the year, for any occasion. Enjoy!!

DSC_0407

Meg

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 03/17/2010 4:12 pm

    Love the last picture…whipped cream on a yummy tart on a beautiful plate! Your tarts look great. I just bought a rectangle tart pan this week! 🙂

    • 03/19/2010 9:19 am

      Thanks for stopping by! I so want a rectnagle tart pan…where did you find one?

Leave a Reply

