Skip to content

TWD #20 Dulce de Leche Duos

03/23/2010

DSC_0447

Oh. My. Goodness. These cookies are so good that they should come with a warning. As in Warning: You may eat the entire batch of cookies all by yourself.

Not that I did that. Really, I didn’t. I totally could have and soooo wanted to. But, oh no, I decided to share them and not be a piggie. I took them to work to share with my teachers. Six of them ate the entire batch  of cookie sandwiches in one big swoop. All I could hear out of them were oohs and ahhs  while they gobbled up the cookies!

I am so glad that Jodie of Beansy Loves Cake picked these delicious cookies. Stop by her blog for the recipe and all of her awesome pics. Not only was this a new cookie for me, I also got to make dulce de leche for the first time. I didn’t even know that you could make it. And now that I know, I will have to make it all the time. I may even make it just to eat it out of the bowl. YUM!

There was a lot of chatter on TWD this week about how to cook the milk. Some said microwave, some said oven, some said stove. I went with the crock pot method. Tia from buttercream barbie posted a great how to on the dulce de leche. Check out her blog if you wanna whip up some dulce de leche of your own.

One of the people that I work with said that these cookies must be hard to make. Actually they were quite the opposite.  Next to chocolate chip, these cookies were the easiest  ones I have ever made. The hardest part was waiting the eight hours for the milk to cook. Once it had cooled, I popped it open to see that perfect brown caramel color. I used two cans since the recipe called for it in the cookie and as a filling. I have just a little left over and think that I see some dulce de leche topped sundaes in our future. 🙂

DSC_0436

DSC_0440

Like I said, these were so easy to whip up. Mix the flour and stuff. Add that to the butter and sugar. Pop in a couple eggs and mix away. It called for a teaspoon of dough on the sheet. The dough was sticky so I decided to use my small cookie scoop and filled it half full. They baked up perfectly round and thin with a crispy little edge and chewy middle.

DSC_0439

DSC_0441

DSC_0443

DSC_0444

When the cookies were cooled, they were spread with a nice dollop of dulce de leche in the middle to made the most delicious cookie sandwich evah!! Lots of people thought that the cookies were too sweet, or they just liked the cookie and not the sandwich. Me, I loved the cookie and LOVED the sandwich!! Hubs liked them and folks at work ate them faster than I could say dulce de leche! I can’t wait to make these again. Enjoy!!

DSC_0451

DSC_0446

Meg

13 Comments leave one →
  1. 03/24/2010 3:00 am

    I agree, these were supereasy to make!! I did think that combined with the filling the cookies were a bit too sweet, but I still really liked them!

  2. 03/24/2010 3:19 am

    Your cookies look delicious! Glad they were a hit. I love that DDL! 🙂

  3. 03/24/2010 4:38 am

    Your cookies look delicious! I am going to try and work these in today.

  4. 03/24/2010 4:58 am

    These were so fabulous.

  5. 03/24/2010 5:33 am

    I’m with you sistah! I love the cookie, the filling and everything in between. Ironically I wasn’t a fan of the chocolate filling+cookie. It has to be the double dulce de leche whammy for me! I also used the crockpot method and thought it was the easiest and safest (for me) method. Glad you (and fellow teachers) enjoyed the cookies.
    -CB
    http://iheartfood4thought.com

  6. 03/24/2010 10:19 am

    i LOVED this recipe too. nice job with your!

  7. Eliza permalink
    03/24/2010 5:44 pm

    haha i know what you mean by the oohing and ahhing…i was totally making foodgasmic sounds as i bit into these =) and i, too decided it would be in everyones best intrest to share. they were a hit across the board!

  8. 03/25/2010 2:28 pm

    I thought the cookies were a snap, also. I’ve filed away the crockpot method of making the dulce de leche. I could eat this stuff out of the can-no problem!

  9. 03/25/2010 3:17 pm

    Yep they were pretty sweet, but delicious. Definitely a keeper. I drizzled mine with choco ganache and that cut the sweetness a little. But good with and without the filling.

    Yours look just perfect.

  10. Heather permalink
    03/25/2010 8:47 pm

    As one of the fellow co-workers who helped devour these cookies, I am glad our meeting ended and I HAD to walk away from the cookies! They were the best. We are lucky to have Meg bake and share her delicious treats with us.

  11. 03/26/2010 3:13 pm

    So jealous! Your DDL looks so dark and creamy. I’m definitely going to try the crock pot method next time to give mine some oomph. Glad you loved them!

  12. Aimee Loper permalink
    04/09/2010 8:26 pm

    These cookies are so delicious noone can eat just five… you must have six or seven or ten…. yum!!!

  13. Anna permalink
    09/19/2010 6:55 am

    I am super excited to make these. I made the dulce de leche in the crock pot last night. Delicious!

Leave a Reply

