Skip to content

TWD #21 Coconut Tea Cake with Lime Glaze

03/30/2010

DSC_0502  You put the lime in the coconut, drink them both up. 🙂

I have been singing that song all week and looking forward to this cake all week. Yummy, Yum, yum!

This week’s host was Carmen of Carmen Cooks. Stop by her blog to get the recipe and see her pictures too!

At first, I was a little hesitant about this cake. Tea cake…what is that? When I saw that it is baked in a bundt pan, I perked up. Everyone loves a bundt cake.

Every time I see a bundt cake, I think of that scene in My Big Fat Greek Wedding. You know, where his folks come to the house with the cake. Her family has no idea what to do with it and ends up putting a plant in the middle of the cake. Too funny…go check it out if you don’t know it.

DSC_0490It was easy to  mix up. How can you really go wrong with coconut, sugar, and rum?!? It was different than most cakes as far as the steps go. First was the sugar and eggs. Then the flour, rum, coconut and milk. And, it only had 4tablespoons of butter!! To a Southern girl, that is just crazy talk. 🙂

Since this week is spring break for me, I made this at the last minute. It was ready in time for us to have a piece for dessert tonight. We both really liked it. It is the perfect dessert to have with coffee and enjoy the evening.

DSC_0494 I topped the cake with a simple glaze of powdered sugar and lime juice. I mixed 1 cup of sifted powdered sugar with the juice of two limes.

Really, it is that easy. Whisk the sugar and juice together until you have the consistency that you want and drizzle over the slightly cooled cake.

 

DSC_0491

DSC_0492

The batter was quite runny when I poured it in the pan…kinda like pancake batter. To my surprise, it bake up perfectly. It was golden on the outside and moist in the middle. I did bake it for about 10 minutes less than the recipe called for.

DSC_0493DSC_0507

This cake will definitely be going in the rotation. It tasted a lot like a pound cake. The coconut came through but not too much. In each bite you get a touch of rum with the lime glaze at the end. I liked it so much that I think I will make this for my easter bunny cake this weekend! Enjoy!!

DSC_0510

Meg

10 Comments leave one →
  1. 03/31/2010 3:39 am

    Your cake looks fantastic! I loved it 🙂

  2. 03/31/2010 6:47 am

    It looks wonderful with the glaze drizzled over it! I wasn’t going to make this one, but reading all the great reviews about it has changed my mind. 🙂

  3. 03/31/2010 12:23 pm

    looks great, especially drizzled with glaze!

  4. uclala permalink
    03/31/2010 5:16 pm

    Your coconut cake looks so festive and delicious! =) I’m totally with you on this one, I want to bake this again for Easter and I’ll follow your lead on taking it out a little earlier too! I put some of the coconut milk in the glaze with the lime juice, I love glaze!

  5. 03/31/2010 5:48 pm

    Your cake looks so pretty with the glaze on it! I wasn’t sure what a tea cake was either, but this was a good cake, and definitely easy!

  6. 04/01/2010 2:37 am

    I like your Easter touches. Your family is lucky.

    And the block cake is quite interesting too. Can’t wait to see the finished result!

  7. 04/01/2010 4:25 am

    Your cake is gorgeous! I’m glad you liked this, and thanks for baking with me this week! 🙂

  8. lynne317 permalink
    04/02/2010 4:11 am

    Beautiful cake! I have been singing that song constantly, myself! I loved the cake. Thanks for commenting on my blog, Cafe Lynnylu.

  9. 04/04/2010 6:34 am

    I love hearing how much you loved it! I am making mine today for Easter! I am so going with the glaze and i love how you drizzled yours on.

    great job! and i’m laughing at the reference to My Big Fat Greek Wedding…I totally forgot about that part!

Trackbacks

  1. Easter Bunny Cake « Meg's Lovey Cakes

Leave a Reply

