Skip to content

Easter Egg cake

04/03/2010

DSC_0533

I was super excited when hubs surprised me with an early Easter goodie of a new egg-shaped pan! I had been searching around for cute Easter themed cakes. I saw some egg ones and just new that I could have to give that a try. I have a cool new 3D bunny pan that I already knew what to do with…that will be anther post. 🙂

Since I am practicing red velvets, I thought I would do a red velvet cake with a white chocolate buttercream on the inside and as the outside crumb coat. The outside of the cake is covered with marshmallow fondant that I made two days prior. You can find the recipe for that here!

I had my red velvet all mixed up. Poured it in the egg and mini bunny pans. I had enough for 1 egg and 6 mini bunnies. I probably could have put more in the egg and just had 3 bunnies.

DSC_0479

DSC_0511

When the cake was baked and cooled, I sliced in half and filled the inside and crumb coated the outside with a white chocolate buttercream. I put the whole thing in the fridge overnight wrapped tight in plastic.

DSC_0520

DSC_0521

Now for the fun stuff…fondant! I rolled out my fondant to about 1/4 of an inch. I wanted it to be little thicker since it was covering a dark cake. For my pink color, I used a mix of petal pink and rose coloring on the white fondant. I placed the rolled out piece of fondant on the cake and used a pastry cutter to trim off the excess fondant. I used a fondant smoother to make it all nice and smooth.

DSC_0525DSC_0526 For the stripes, I used violet fondant.  I rolled it out and used the crimped edge of my pastry cutter to trim the strips. The crinkle effect didn’t quite come through. I will have to try that out again to get a better effect. I used sky blue color for the fondant circles. I used the medium and small circle cutter to get the shapes from the rolled out fondant. I brushed the back sides of the strips and circles with a small amount of water so that they would stick to the egg without falling off. 

DSC_0535DSC_0553 That’s it! It really was super easy to put this together. It is a tad time consuming, but very easy. If you have the time, you can do this! I hope that you have a wonderful Easter filled with joy and good times! Enjoy!!

Red Velvet Cake (Also makes 24 cupcakes)

recipe from Martha Stewart Cupcakes

Ingredients

  • 2 1/2 cups cake flour (not self- rising), sifted ( I used Soft as Silk)
  • 2 tablespoons unsweetened Dutch-process cocoa powder
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 1/2 cups sugar
  • 1 1/2 cups vegetable oil
  • 2 large eggs, room temperature
  • 1/2 teaspoon red gel-paste food color ( I used Wilton’s Christmas red—not quite a 1/2 teaspoon)
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 1 cup buttermilk
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 2 teaspoons distilled white vinegar
  •  

    Directions

    1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line standard muffin tins with paper liners. Whisk together cake flour, cocoa, and salt.
    2. With an electric mixer on medium-high speed, whisk together sugar and oil until combined. Add eggs, one at a time, beating until each is incorporated, scraping down sides of bowl as needed. Mix in food color and vanilla.
    3. Reduce speed to low. Add flour mixture in three batches, alternating with two additions of buttermilk, and whisking well after each. Stir together the baking soda and vinegar in a small bowl (it will foam); add mixture to the batter, and mix on medium speed 10 seconds.
    4. Divide batter evenly among lined cups, filling each three-quarters full. Bake, rotating tins halfway through, until a cake tester inserted in centers comes out clean, about 20 minutes. Transfer tins to wire racks to cool completely before removing cupcakes. Cupcakes can be stored overnight at room temperature, or frozen up to 2 months, in airtight containers.
    5. To finish, use a small offset spatula to spread cupcakes with frosting. Refrigerate up to 3 days in airtight containers; bring to room temperature before serving.

    DSC_0534

    Meg

    5 Comments leave one →
    1. 04/06/2010 1:07 pm

      WOW! This looks totally impressive. I bet it was delicious!

    2. 04/20/2011 7:33 pm

      i love it! very cute, great job = )

    Trackbacks

    1. Baby Block Cake « Meg's Lovey Cakes
    2. Flower Bikini Cake « Meg's Lovey Cakes
    3. Skull Cupcakes « Meg's Lovey Cakes

    Leave a Reply

