Skip to content

TWD #22 Mocha Pecan Marbled Bundt Cake

04/13/2010

Yeah, yeah, yeah…this was last week’s pick for TWD. So shoot me. So technically I think that this is called a TWD Rewind. I guess since I am using a pick from last week…I dunno.

I made the cake at the last minute on Tuesday last week. Since I had made two cakes the week before, had a cupcake and cake order during last week, and my MIL was in the hospital for knee surgery, I was a tad bit busy. Not wanting to skip the cake after I read the reviews, I decided at the very last minute to make the cake. I just didn’t get it posted until now.

DSC_0577

This cake was so super easy to make. I dare say that this may be my go-to need a quick dessert to take to someone cake. It was delicious and super quick to whip up. The host for this week was Erin of When in doubt…leave it at 350. Stop by her blog to see what she had to say. You can also by the book Baking from My Home To Yours and get all of our yummy recipes. 🙂

Like I said, I was gonna skip right by this cake. I mean, it’s a bundt cake…big deal. Right? Nope! This cake was beyond easy to make. It looked pretty. And on top of all of that, it tasted great!

DSC_0570

DSC_0572

The basic batter was vanilla with ground pecans mixed in. The recipe called for walnuts, but I, of course, subbed pecans. Add to that some melted chocolate and coffee. Marble the two together in the pan and you are good to go. Dorie says to use a light hand when marbling. I think I may need some more practice with this part. Tthe top part that I could see looked great.

DSC_0573

DSC_0575 But…when I flipped it our of the pan, I didn’t have any marbling. It came out pretty…kinda looked like a wreath with ribbon on it. Oh well. That just means that I will have to try this again to practice! 🙂

I took this in to work for a birthday of one of my teachers. They all ate it up and said it was yummy. I didn’t get a pic of the inside…but it looked good! I drizzled white and semi-sweet chocolate around the cake to kind of dress it up some. It tasted buttery and moist and had great flavor. This cake would be great for coffee, dessert, or just because! Enjoy!!

Meg

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

