Skip to content

TWD #24 Chockablock Cookies

04/27/2010

DSC_0625 To say that these cookies were chocked full of stuff is an understatement. I don’t think that I have ever put so much stuff into one cookie. Dorie was right when she said that there was barely enough dough to hold it all together. When ya put oats, chocolate chips, cranberries, pecans and coconut in a cookie, it can get a little crowded. Once again, Dorie knew what she was doing. These cookies were delish!

The host for this week was Mary of Popsicles and Sandy Feet. Stop by her blog to get the recipe and see what she had to say about this cookie. I am usually a plain cookie kinda gal. I go for butter, sugar and chocolate chip. I even like to have the occasional peanut butter cookie. Never would I have thought that I would like these. Te recipe called for walnuts, figs and chopped bittersweet chocolate. I used semi-sweet chocolate chips, pecans and dried cranberries. The chocolate chips made this cookie for me.

I made these to take in for our grade level treat day at school. I was already doing cupcakes and just figured that I would whip up a batch of cookies since it was our Dorie pick for the week. I was a little nervous when I read the recipe again and saw that it had molasses in it. It’s not that I have a problem with molasses; I just was not sure how it would pair with chocolate chips and nuts. When I think of molasses, I think gingerbread cookies. Somehow, it just worked in this cookie. I think that most people were a tad bit skeptical about these at first. The color was a little different and they had dried fruit in them. But, once you try it, you find that it is a really yummy cookie. It only took about two hours for these to disappear at work!

The cookie was more than easy to make. Measure the dry ingredients. Add in some molasses, crisco and butter. Mix in nuts, chocolate and fruit and you are good to go. Because of the molasses in these cookies, they were quite dark even before baking. They held their shape during baking and did not spread at all.

DSC_0619

DSC_0620

DSC_0621

DSC_0622

While this was a super easy cookie to make, I’m not sure that it will be at the top of my cookie to-do list. I liked it. I thought that it had a great flavor. But, if I am gonna go for a cookie with stuff in it, I think I would rather make a chocolate chip. I will definitely try this one again. Next time, I will find a substitute for the molasses. The flavor was a bit too strong for me. I think that a different kind of liquid might lighten these up. If you are after a hearty, full of stuff kinda cookie, then this one is perfect for you! Enjoy!!

DSC_0626Meg

5 Comments leave one →
  1. 04/27/2010 7:47 pm

    I’m with you. The flavor was a bit too strong for me and I halved the molasses! I’d be interested to hear if you make them again without the molasses.

  2. uclala permalink
    04/28/2010 11:51 am

    Meg, your cookies look awesome! I love the color of the cranberries peeking out. =) I think I’ll stick to one kind of dried fruit if I make this again. I love molasses and I totally agree – the chocolate definitely was a factor in my loving these cookies!

  3. njmt32 permalink
    04/28/2010 12:49 pm

    Your cookies look really delicious! The cranberries add such a pretty colour 🙂

  4. 04/28/2010 1:44 pm

    I used cranberries as well, along with some other dried fruits, nuts and seeds. It does look pretty with all the fruit poking out. I used golden syrup instead of the molasses; I think it helped give it a more mild flavor.

  5. 04/29/2010 7:31 am

    There really was a lot of stuff in these! I substituted agave syrup for the molasses, but it didn’t add any flavor, so I’m not sure that was a good choice. A couple of people used brown sugar instead of white, and that sounds like a good idea to me. But I might just go with plain chocolate chip next time!

Leave a Reply

