Skip to content

Popcorn Cupcakes

05/09/2010

DSC_0653

Poppy, poppy, popcorn. I love popcorn. Nothing goes better with a movie than hot, buttery popcorn. But cupcakes and popcorn? Not so much. Silly rabbit…cupcakes are for frosting!! And these yummy cakes are for frosting and marshmallows!

So hubs got me the book Hello Cupcake for Easter. I so love this book. After putting it off for a while, I finally broke down and got the book.I am so glad that I did! It is an adorable book with fun, easy to do recipes that anyone can do. They have you use things like ziploc bags instead of pastry bags and candies instead of fondant and canned frosting so that anyone can do  do these. Personally, canned frosting makes me want to gag. But, if you like it, go for it.

These were super easy to do. Very, very time consuming, but still easy to make. I used a butter cake for the cupcakes. Once that was baked and cooled, I started with the frosting. I used my buttercream frosting for the cakes. You can find the recipe for that here

I knew that I would need about 10 popcorn pieces for each cupcake. Since it was just me putting all of these together, I set up my own little assembly line. I cut up one marshmallow into 3 pieces. I put a dab of frosting on the top of one marshmallow. When all of my pieces were ready, I put the one marshmallow in the middle of the three cut pieces.

DSC_0628DSC_0629DSC_0631DSC_0635I used some white and some yellow marshmallows. I picked out the yellow ones from a bag of flavored marshmallows. The first time, I bought jet puffed. The next time, I bought the Wal-Mart brand. I like the Wal-Mart  brand better because the yellow was brighter.

I took the cooled cupcake and spread on some white frosting. Then I put 10-11 marshmallow popcorn pieces on top. And that’s it! to make them super cute, you can display them in a plastic popcorn box, or use popcorn cupcake wrappers.  Enjoy!!

DSC_0632

DSC_0634

DSC_0652

Vanilla Cupcake Recipe (adapted from www.iheartcuppycakes.com)

(this is the BEST recipe that I have found!! It is moist and buttery and yum!!)

INGREDIENTS

3-1/2 cups AP flour
2-1/2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1-1/2 cups (3 sticks) butter, unsalted
2 cups sugar
4 tsp vanilla extract
6 eggs
3 tbsp canola oil
2/3 cup buttermilk

 

INSTRUCTIONS

Preheat oven to 350F. Prepare cupcake pan with liners.

In a large bowl, sift to combine flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt. Set aside.

In a stand mixer, fitted with a flat beater, cream the butter and sugar for about 5 minutes until light. Add vanilla. Then eggs, one at a time. (Don’t worry if the batter looks curdled—it will come together when you add the flour.) Add oil and buttermilk. Slowly add flour mixture in 3 additions and mix until just combined. Try not to over mix!

DSC_0614

DSC_0617 Fill cupcake liners about 1/2-2/3 full. ( I used a large ice ream scoop.) Bake about 17-20 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the middle comes out clean. (mine was 15 minutes) Let cool completely before frosting.

DSC_0618DSC_0627

 DSC_0648

Meg

10 Comments leave one →
  1. 05/10/2010 11:34 am

    Your cupcakes are adorable!!!

  2. 04/20/2011 2:18 pm

    What a wonderful post! If nothing else it made me chuckle and then want to get in the kitchen and be creative! I would love to post this on my blog with your permission! Great blog too by the way!

    • 04/28/2011 7:11 pm

      Thanks! Sure you can post this. Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

  3. 04/28/2011 7:25 pm

    Thanks Meg!!! 🙂

  4. 07/12/2011 11:23 am

    You beat me to this! I love Hello Cupcake! my sister and I made the penguins last summer and the corn on the cob! very cute. new follower too!

    laura

  5. Evlynn permalink
    09/15/2012 8:48 pm

    I’m trying these for my 8 year old twins’ birthday….how do you store the “popcorn” once it’s made? I’m doing it in advance.

    • 10/22/2012 9:51 pm

      I made mine the day before I used them. I would think that the marshmallows would keep just fine in tupperware. Thanks!!

Trackbacks

  1. Sunflower Cupcakes « Meg's Lovey Cakes
  2. Dollar Store Crafts » Blog Archive » Movie Night Ideas & Live Chat on Tues 7/12
  3. Movie Night Ideas & Live Chat on Tues 7/12 |Candle Making Kits | Beeswax, Soy and Gel Candle Making Starter Kits

Leave a Reply

