Skip to content

TWD #25 Classic Berry Tart

05/11/2010

DSC_0738I almost didn’t make this one. I wanted too, but also wanted to nap on the couch. In then end, I felt bad for having the fresh berries and not using them. so, off to the kitchen I went.

I still don’t think that I have mastered the pastry cream, but it tastes good so I guess that counts for something!

This week’s host is Cristine of Cooking with Cristine. Stop by her blog for the recipe and all of her beautiful pictures. The recipe calls for a sweet tart dough. Since I waited to the last minute to make this, I went with the quick option of pie crust. I quick whipped up a pie crust and put it in my new rectangle pan that my mama sent me. Even if the tart tastes like mud, I got to use my new pan!!

The recipe was easy to make. I first had to mix the eggs with the sugar and cornstarch. Then add in the milk. The only hard part was the constant whisking. I thought my arm was gonna fall off. I just kept whisking and whisking trying to get it where it needed to be. It came together, but somehow I think that it happened too quick. I dunno…I will just have to make more cream and practice!!

DSC_0729

DSC_0732

Once the cream came together, it gets vanilla and butter added to it. then it just has to cool. Wanting to get done with this, I did the quick method for cooling. I poured the cream in a bowl and let it chill in a bigger bowl of ice and water. After a few minutes, it was good to go. Now time for the assembly.

DSC_0735

DSC_0736

I put the cream in the pie shell and spread it around. I went with blackberries and strawberries for the tart. I think the colors are pretty and, well, that is what the store had today. :)I lined the sides with the blackberries and used two rows of sliced berries in the middle. We haven’t tried it yet, but it definitely came out pretty! I’m sure that this would be great with any fruit, especially with the summer months ahead of us. Enjoy!!

DSC_0740

DSC_0739

Meg

7 Comments leave one →
  1. 05/11/2010 9:55 pm

    omg can i have those berries? they look so juicy and good!

  2. 05/12/2010 3:00 am

    Your berries look perfect! It looks great in the rectangular pan. I used blackberries too–yum!

  3. 05/12/2010 7:43 am

    I love your decoration !! Great tart !!

  4. 05/12/2010 7:46 am

    Your tart is beautiful! Thanks for baking with me!

  5. 05/12/2010 8:07 am

    Every time I have made this pastry cream it cooked much quicker than anticipated, but it is always delicious.
    Your tart looks so pretty.
    Mimi

  6. 05/12/2010 10:10 am

    Your berries look perfect! What a nice looking tart!

  7. 05/12/2010 11:27 am

    It looks gorgeous! Yeah, me and pastry cream gotta practice…

Leave a Reply

