Skip to content

Flower Bikini Cake

07/15/2010

DSC_0841

A friend of mine comes chasing me down at school one day telling me that she wants me to make a cake for her boyfriend’s birthday. But not just any cake. Nope, he wanted a boob cake. Yikes. I had no idea how to even make boobs.

After tons of google searches, I finally found something that was ok for a mixed group. Just imagine what pops up on the computer when you google “boob cakes”.  Hubs was really enjoying the nightly searches! 🙂

Since this cake was gonna be at a party with kids and adults, I knew that I had to cover the boobs.  The party was a luau theme, so I wanted to cover it with tropical looking flowers. Man, that was some fun searching. I looked forever and ever trying to find some flowers that I could make. All of  the flowers I found used a combo of cutters and molds. Great. Flower cutters I have, but no flower molds. So, it was on to make a bunch of flowers petal by petal.

DSC_0811

DSC_0812

I rolled out the fondant and used a tiny petal cutter to make all of the petals. Each flower had five petals. I used the ball tool  to soften the edges of the petals. It kind of adds a depth to the petals and makes them look more like real flowers.

DSC_0813

DSC_0814After the ball tool, I used the pointy stick thing—and that is the real name of that—to curve the edges of the petals. Then I used a paint brush to paint water on the edges so that they were ready to stick together.

DSC_0816

DSC_0817

When the petals were arranged, I used the ball tool again to press straight down in the middle of the petals. I did this on the foam block so that the petals could be pressed down without breaking. Put a small ball of fondant in the middle, and you have got yourself a flower! Now I only needed about one hundred more!!

Now on to the cake. Mmm, red velvet. It is so yummy. Since it is crazy hot here and the party was in June, it had to be covered in fondant. The flowers were a mix of packaged fondant and gumpaste, but for the cake, I made my marshmallow fondant. I colored it a flesh color and used it to cover the cake and the boobs.

DSC_0818

DSC_0824

DSC_0826   DSC_0823

I made the boobs with the Wilton sports ball pan. They were covered in frosting and topped with fondant. The cake was made in an oval pan. I layered it, filled it and did my two coats of frosting on it before it got topped with fondant. Once they were both covered, it had to be stacked. I used dowels to support the weight of the boobs and flowers.

DSC_0828

DSC_0829

I started putting the flowers all around the boobs. I wanted it to look like a flower bikini. It did, but I know what I want to do for next time. I think that it looked pretty awesome for my first time ever doing something like this!! I finished it off with a flower border around the base of the cake. In the end, I was super proud of this cake. It was a hit at the party and I can’t wait to do another one!

 

DSC_0834DSC_0841

  

You can find the recipe for the cake here. I used cream cheese frosting, but you could use any frosting with red velvet and it would be yummy! Enjoy!!

Meg

6 Comments leave one →
  1. 07/16/2010 8:22 pm

    Hysterical! You did a great job!!!

  2. Anna permalink
    03/03/2011 6:26 pm

    When you made the flowers, how long did you let them dry? Also, did you do a 50/50 mix with the fondant and gumpaste? Thanks!

    • 03/03/2011 9:17 pm

      Hey you! Making some flowers for some boobs?? 🙂 I think I had them dry for about two days. Some of them I was still making the day before and they still came out fine. I don’t know what the F/G ratio was. My gumpaste was dry, so I probably used more fondant so that it was easier to work with. If you want rock hard, use more gumpaste. 🙂

  3. Anna permalink
    03/04/2011 7:51 am

    No boob cakes for me! Making cupcakes for my sister’s wedding shower. (She would be really pissed if I showed up with a boob cake!) I want the flowers to still be edible! Thanks for your help!

  4. 04/12/2011 5:11 am

    how many people did this cake feed?

Leave a Reply

