Skip to content

Team Edward Vampire Cupcakes

07/17/2010

DSC_0013

Omg, I heart Edward! Don’t know about you, but I am a big Twilight fan!! I started reading the books when my m-i-l gave it to me. To be honest, I was a tad embarrassed to be reading it. I thought, mistakenly, that it was a kid book. Once I got into it, I could not put it down! I can watch the movies over and over and hubs even went to see Eclipse twice on opening day!! He’s such a good egg 🙂

Before the latest movie came out, I wanted to make some Twilight cupcakes to celebrate! The plan was to do some Team Edward and some Team Jacob cupcakes. Well, at 6:30 on Sunday night, I had not even begun the werewolf cupcakes. Not wanting to stay up all night cutting marshmallows and piping frosting fur, I went with just the Edward cupcakes. After all, Edward is dreamy! 🙂

I knew I wanted a chocolate cupcake with plain buttercream. What I hadn’t really thought about was the “blood” on the outside. I pureed  some frozen raspberries and strawberry preserves and cooked it down in a pan. Then I got to thinking and realized that the cupcakes needed some sort of filling. I wanted to use the same thing for the outside and inside but knew that the jam was too runny to put in a bag and pipe into the cake.  So, I added some powdered sugar to it as it cooked. Nope, still too runny. What to do? When all else fails, add more frosting!

I took some of the filling that I made and added some buttercream frosting to it and it was perfect! It made a nice creamy filling that went perfectly with the moist of the chocolate cupcake. Had I given it some more thought, I would have done more of a fruit filing. But, in the end they were really yummy!

DSC_0007

DSC_0009

When they were all filled, they got topped with a big swirl of buttercream frosting. I wanted to leave it white so that it would contrast nicely with the red of the “blood”. I used the rest of my jam mix that I made for the blood marks on the cakes. I poured it in squeeze bottle and put it in the fridge to chill for while. All of the cakes got two big  drips of red down the front of them. I wanted it to be nice and thick, so I went over them a few times each.

DSC_0010

DSC_0012

One girl at worked actually screamed when she saw the Team Edward cupcakes! (She likes it even more than me!!) I thought that these were delicious. On the outside, it was a plain chocolate cupcake. But, on the inside you had a creamy strawberry surprise! I will definitely keep working to perfect the fruity cream filling. By the time the next movie comes out, I should have something awesome planned! Enjoy!!

adapted from www.zoebakes.com 

Devil’s Food Cupcakes (These are the BEST chocolate cupcakes!!  They are my go to for cupcakes, but it does not work too well in a cake because it is so moist 🙂 )

3 cups granulated sugar

2 3/4 cups all-purpose flour

1 1/8 cups cocoa powder

1 1/4 teaspoons baking powder

2 1/4 teaspoons baking soda

1 1/2 teaspoons salt

3 large eggs

1 1/2 cups milk

3/4 cup vegetable oil

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

1 1/2 cups hot coffee

Instructions:

Heat the oven to 350 degrees and prepare 4 dozen muffin tins with papers.

DSC_0151 Sift all of the dry ingredients together in a large bowl and whisk until combined, set aside.

Whisk together, eggs, milk, oil and vanilla until well combined. Add the egg mixture to the dry ingredients and whisk until smooth. Slowly add the hot coffee to the batter and whisk until totally blended and smooth, about 2 minutes.  The batter will be quite runny.

DSC_0154DSC_0156 Fill a measuring cup or pitcher (I used a candy funnel)  with the batter and then fill the muffin cups about 2/3 full. Bake the cupcakes for about 15-18 minutes or until a tester comes out clean.

Allow to cool on a cake rack and then frost with your favorite frosting!

Meg

and one more awesome pic for the road 🙂

edward_cullen_by_novembernightsx

Leave a Reply

