Skip to content

TWD #28 Vanilla Rum Cakes

07/19/2010
tags: ,

Another Tuesday, another Dorie that did not get posted. To be honest, I was not that excited about this one. I make cakes all the time and this one was not that special. It did have a touch of rum to it, but nothing that made it stand out in a crowd. It was a good moist cake that can be left alone or dressed up to be fancy.

DSC_0078

This cake was picked by Wendy of Pink Stripes. If ya want the recipe, head on over to her blog and see what she had to say about this one. She as a great blog with tons of good looking pics and food. Don’t forget that you can always pick up the Dorie book!

The recipe called for it to be made in a loaf pan, but I made it in my jumbo cupcake pan. I was really just making this one to make it and get caught up on some TWD posts. It was an easy recipe to make and I think that you could do lots of different things with this cake.

DSC_0062

DSC_0065

 DSC_0066  DSC_0070

Once the cakes were baked and cooled a little, they were topped with a brushing of rum. I poked holes in all my cakes and brushed the rum simple syrup all over top and bottom, but it never had a strong rum taste. Maybe I let the cakes cool too long. Or maybe my heart was not in this one. Whatever it was, I didn’t love this one. Oh well, can’t love every single recipe in a cookbook.

I would like to try this one again. The next time, I would put the glaze on sooner and maybe play around with adding stuff to it to make it more exciting. Enjoy!!

DSC_0075

 

Meg

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

