Skip to content

Chocolate Cupcakes with Caramel Buttercream

09/26/2010

DSC_0165

I was sitting around one day thinking about how well caramel and chocolate go together. I mean, who doesn’t love a milky way,  a caramello, or a rolo? I could go for one right now.

Mmmm, candy.

With the idea of candy stuck in my head, I wanted to try a caramel and chocolate cupcake.

I know what you are thinking—awesome. And it was!

My chocolate cupcakes are super moist so I had a hard time getting the candy center to come out the way I wanted. We played around with a milky way and a rolo in the center of the cupcake. Surprisingly, the milky way was no good. The rolo was the better center for the cake, but the trick was when to put them in. If I put it in at the beginning, the rolo just sank to the bottom.  I had to time it just right, so that the rolo would sit somewhat in the middle of the cake.

Once I had the cake part figured out, it was time for the buttercream. Ooohh, the buttercream. This was one of my favorite frostings I have made. It was creamy and caramely, and just delicious. I searched high and low for this frosting. I wanted one that had caramels in it and not just brown sugar. The caramels were melted and mixed with some milk. Once it was at room temperature, the caramel mix was added to the butter and sugar. A regular buttercream became a creamy, caramel buttercream that could be eaten with a spoon!

DSC_0154DSC_0156

If you like caramel, you have to try this frosting. It is so delicious, that you will want to make it everyday! Enjoy!!

Caramel Buttercream adapted from http://www.cheatdaycafe.blogspot.com

Ingredients

50 caramels
1/2 cup milk
1 cup unsalted butter, softened
5 cups confectioners’ sugar, sifted
1/2 tsp vanilla extract

Directions

In medium saucepan, melt caramels over medium heat, stirring occasionally, 15 minutes. Whisk in milk until smooth. Remove from heat: let cool to room temperature, 1 hour.

In a large bowl, beat butter, sugar and vanilla until blended. On medium-high, beat 3 minutes. Beat in caramel mixture and beat 2 minutes more, until light and fluffy.

Pipe on to cupcakes using a tip, or spread using a spatula. Top with candy garnish and enjoy!

DSC_0168

Meg

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Anna permalink
    09/28/2010 3:30 pm

    Yumm-o! You’ll have to tell me the secret!

  2. Mama permalink
    09/29/2010 1:08 pm

    WOW! These look delicious! You will have to make these for us!

  3. Anna permalink
    09/30/2010 5:22 am

    The cake part and when to put to candy in!

  4. 09/30/2010 5:25 am

    you and my mama said the same thing! 🙂 Click on chocolate cupcakes…the link will take you to the recipe. They are so yummy and easy–I don’t even use my mixer. I use a really big bowl.

    I put the candies in at about 10 minutes of baking. My oven is kinda slow, so yours may be different!

Leave a Reply

