Skip to content

Strawberry Cupcakes

10/02/2010

DSC_0209

In the summer when strawberries are in season, I love to bake with them. Shortcakes, angel food, and pound cake all go perfectly with strawberries. After making this as a cake for a friend, I knew that I would have to try it as a cupcake.

Strawberry cupcakes are just fun. It is a pink cake…what’s not to like?!? This cake is delicious. It is good as a cake and even better as a bite sized cupcake.

I had searched high and low for a strawberry cake that did not use a cake mix. It was incredibly hard to find. On a rare night that I could not sleep, I stumbled upon this recipe. The person that posted it said that her grandmother made this one. How could a grandmother tested cake do me wrong? I knew I had to try it and immediately printed the recipe.

DSC_0173 DSC_0172

The  first thing that a strawberry cake needs is…you guessed it, strawberries! They had to be rinsed, chopped and pureed. I love it when I get to bust out the stick blender! Sure, a regular blender would take about half the time, but the stick one is way more fun.

DSC_0174

DSC_0175

The flour was sifted in a bowl and set aside. I whisked the oil, sugar, eggs, buttermilk and jello powder together in a big bowl. I was doubling the recipe so I just used my big bowl and did it all by hand. This was such an easy recipe to whip up that you really don’t need a mixer. When it was all mixed together, it was this super bright, runny mess. The flour was added and  then the strawberries and it thickened up and was a perfect light pink and ready to bake.

While the cupcakes were a-baking, I got started on the frosting. Yum. Yummy, yum, yum. Yum. I knew I wanted a light one and one with strawberries. I had this one in my Martha Stewart Cupcakes book and gave it a shot. It was totally worth the time. It was light and creamy and good enough to eat with a spoon!

DSC_0201

DSC_0202

DSC_0204

DSC_0205

The sugar and egg whites were cooked in the mixing bowl. When it was thick and smooth, it was time to mix. With the whisk attachment, it was mixed until it was creamy and white. Then goes the best part—the buttah! whisk until you think the mixer will die and you are almost there. Just pop in the the strawberries and you have the best frosting. It is smooth and creamy and not at all over sweet! You can find the recipe and directions for the frosting here.

DSC_0207

 

 

 

 

I can’t wait to make these again. I have been thinking about them since strawberries have been good looking at the stores lately. They were definitely a hit at work and you will love them too! Enjoy!!

Strawberry Cupcakes

makes about 24 cupcakes

Ingredients

2 cups Self rising flour, sifted

3 eggs at room temperature

1 cup vegetable oil

1 cup sugar

1 pkg. strawberry jello

1/2 cup buttermilk

1 cup strawberries, pureed

Directions

Pre heat the oven to 350. Line the pan with paper liners. Sift the flour in a bowl and set aside. Puree the strawberries and set aside. In another bowl beat eggs, then add oil, sugar, buttermilk and strawberry gelatin. Stir until well blended. Add flour mixture to the liquids and whisk until just blended. Fold in the pureed strawberries and mix until blended.

Fill the cupcakes 2/3 full. Bake at 350 for about 14 minutes. Cool on a rack. When they are cool, pipe or spread frosting on top.

DSC_0208

Meg

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

