Skip to content

TWD #36 Fluff filled Chocolate Madeleines

01/18/2011

DSC_0672Madeleines seem to be the quintessential French cookie. Maybe it is the name, or maybe just the shape. For whatever reason, the French love these. I love the little shell shape that they have. I don’t think that I have ever actually eaten a madeleine before. I have seen them at stores and always wanted a pan. When I saw this recipe, I knew that now was my chance to start back up with my Dorie posts and to get a madeleine pan!

This was actually the pick from last week. I was still getting used to working again and figured I could catch up on this post. Since I haven’t done a Dorie since October, I figured that one more week couldn’t hurt. This was chosen by Margo of Effort to Deliciousness. Head on over to her blog for the recipe and her step-by-step pics. Her madeleines look delish! If you want all of the Dorie recipes, you can always buy the book, Baking from my Home to Yours.

DSC_0658Not ever baking a  madeleine before, I had no idea what to expect. Most pans had 12 shells, and mine had 16. I didn’t know how much to fill them up. I also didn’t know how to really tell if they were done…can’t check for color because they are chocolate. Were they to be more like cake, or cookie? Usually I go in to full on panic mode if I don’t have a clear expectation in my head. But this time I threw caution to the wind and figured that if it didn’t work, I could make a trifle with the cookie crumbs!

DSC_0662DSC_0664The recipe was super easy. It had some flour, cocoa powder, salt, butter,eggs and sugar. I didn’t even have to break out the mixer. When I saw the amounts and that the dry ingredients were just folded, I went for the hand mixer. The only tricky part was the folding. I hate folding. I have zero confidence in my folding skills. Too fast and ya mess it up. Too slow and is messes up. I just kinda went with it and hoped for the best. My cakes were very porous and didn’t have enough of the shell indentations, so maybe I had a right to be nervous of the folding.

Dorie says that they should be springy when done and that they should just pop right out of the pan. Springy…eh? Not too sure if mine were to the springy stage, but they were not runny. I could touch them and not sink so I figured they were done. And, as promised, they popped right out of the pan. I did have two casualties. Maybe next time I let them sit in the pan for just a bit. But at least I got a cook’s treat!

DSC_0668DSC_0669The cakes—I always thought that these were cookies, but after tasting them have decided that they are more cake like, so I am calling them cakes—had to cool before being filled with fluff and dipped in chocolate. I tried them before the fill and dip and really think that they tasted better plain. They were deliciously chocolaty  and the perfect bite for all of that chocolate. But, personally, I thought that the fluff added nothing and that the ganache was too bitter. Me, I liked the plain little chocolate cakes just fine.

I can’t wait to try the plain madeleine recipe in the book. And I will definitely try these again and leave out the extras. They are a fun cake to make and I am glad that they are now in my baking rotation. Enjoy!

Meg DSC_0674

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

