Skip to content

TWD #38 Nutty, Chocolaty, Swirly Sour Cream Bundt Cake

01/25/2011

DSC_0721

When you read the name of this cake, it may seem like too much. But, once again, Dorie knows what she is doing. This was a delicious pound cake that I see myself making over and over again.

This was picked by Jennifer of Cooking for Comfort. Stop by her blog to get the recipe and see what she had to say about it. She has some really interesting things on her blog and a chocolate chip cookie recipe that I am definitely gonna have to try!

I love my Dorie baking. I would never in a million years made this cake if it were not for the TWD group. I am pretty sure that we will be through the book before I get to pick a recipe, but I still have so much fun baking along with the weekly treat. Smile

When I was scanning through the ingredients list, I was a tad bit concerned. The pound cake was simple enough. It was the spices in the swirl and the orange. The cake batter has orange zest in it. And then there is a swirl layer that has cinnamon, nuts, chocolate, nutmeg and sugar. That is a lot going on. Somehow, it all works.

DSC_0701DSC_0703

The zest is mixed with the sugar before the butter and eggs go in. Some of the batter goes in the pan and then the swirl mix goes on top. Then, you put more swirl and try to cover it up with the tiny bit of batter remaining. I think that next time, I will double the cake batter. Or at least do an extra half. I needed more batter for the top—which, when flipped,was the bottom-of the cake. I may put more swirl in the middle and mix it a little more into the batter.

DSC_0709DSC_0711

I really enjoyed the spices and the nuts and chocolate in the cake. I used mini chips, so they were not too bitter, or too big. I liked the swirl in the middle and then the surprise of the crunch on the bottom. This was a great cake. We just had a piece tonight for dessert and it was still delish! This is the perfect cake when you want a different pound cake that still has that pound cake taste. I can’t wait to make this one again! Enjoy!!

Meg DSC_0716

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 01/26/2011 6:18 am

    Your swirl looks perfect. And I am sure your cake is delicious as it is pretty. I love bundt cakes and pound cakes too! I definitely will be making this one again soon.

  2. 01/26/2011 2:26 pm

    Yum your swirl is the best I’ve seen! It looks so good! Im glad you enjoyed it and baked something you wouldn’t have tried! I love this group because of that!:0)

Leave a Reply

