Skip to content

Orange Creamsicle Cupcakes

03/13/2011

DSC_0954

I have been dying to try a new cupcake recipe lately. I was searching around for a new flavor and came across these. SO yummy!! The orange flavor in the cupcake is not overpowering, but is still there. I went with a very subtly orange flavored buttercream on top. The flavor combo is amazing. It is just like eating an orange push pop!

 

I had these whipped up in about 20 minutes. The eggs, orange juice and sour cream were mixed with the extracts and then the dry ingredients were dumped in the bowl. And that was that. Really can’t get much easier.

DSC_0951DSC_0952DSC_0953

They cooled on the rack and I made some buttercream. Usually I use a buttercream with part butter and part crisco. This time I went with an all butter buttercream. Along with new cupcakes, I have been wanting play around with a new buttercream. I think that I am close to what I am looking for. But really, what is better than butter and powdered sugar?!? To add some more orange to the cupcakes, I added some orange emulsion to the buttercream. Delsih! These cupcakes were super yummy. They are the perfect spring or summer treat!! Enjoy!

DSC_0965DSC_0967

 

Orange Buttercream

6 sticks of butter

3-4 lbs of powdered sugar

1 tablespoon orange emulsion

2-3 tablespoons milk

 

Whip butter until fluffy. Add in powdered sugar and mix until creamy. Pour in emulsion and milk and continue mixing until you have the consistency you are looking for.

 

Meg

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 03/18/2011 1:29 am

    This is unbelievable. The color makes it so gorgeous. I love to serve this sometimes for our school ball. Thanks for the idea.

  2. 03/20/2011 2:46 am

    I truly agree with Rose. The color really makes it gorgeous and presentable. The more the cupcake or any food looks presentable the more I can’t eat it. I just love to stare foods like these.

Leave a Reply

