Skip to content

Country Blueberry Muffins

08/13/2011

DSC_0128

I love all of my food mags that I get. Now that I am back in the south, I won’t stick out with my Southern Lady, Taste of the South, Southern Living, and Paula Deen magazines. Most of the time, I read it and think about how much I want to make something in them. In the latest Paula Deen, there was a blueberry muffin recipe that jumped out at me and I knew  I had to make it.

Blueberry muffins are the classic breakfast muffin. But these muffins have a little twist to them. The have nuts, oats and orange zest in them making them a heartier blueberry muffin. Like all muffins, they are super easy and quick to whip up. Quite a few ingredients, but simple and tasty!

DSC_0114DSC_0112DSC_0113

Oats were soaked in milk and then you added in some orange zest, sugar and oil. The nuts were added to the dry and then the dry bowl added to the wet. Toss in some frozen berries and you are 15 minutes away from muffins! You are also supposed to add in one egg. Unless you’re me and you don’t see the egg that you cracked in a bowl until you have the muffin cups filled and ready.

 

So, I took the paper cups out, scraped the mix back in the bowl and added  in the egg that I had lightly scrambled. Fun. Because of the extra mixing, it broke the blueberries down and the batter was a little blue-ish, but they still came out perfectly.

DSC_0117DSC_0119DSC_0121DSC_0122

I used a big scooper to fill the cups. You’ll notice that the first pic has blue papers—until I had to scrape all of the filling out. Then they got yellow ones. Smile I called for only 12, so I filled the cups up. I am always nervous about over-filling. Our oven in Vegas was terrible and half the time things just would not bake right. But not now—this oven is sooooo much better. The muffins had nice, rounded tops and the bottoms were golden, not burnt. They really did bake up perfectly. They were crunchy, and sweet and perfect for breakfast. Make some today—quick, easy and sure to please!! Enjoy!!

 

Country Blueberry Muffins  (recipe adapted from Cooking with Paula Deen)

Ingredients

1 cup old-fashioned oats (I used quick cook)
1 cup 2% milk
1/2 cup packed brown sugar (I used dark brown sugar)
1/3 cup vegetable oil
1 tbsp orange zest
1 egg
1 cup flour
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp ground cinnamon
1/2 cup chopped pecans
1 1/2 cup frozen blueberries*
*keeping out 1/2 cup of the blueberries to sprinkle on top of the batter before baking (I totally forgot about this step..ooops!)

Directions

Place the milk and the oats in a bowl, stir to combine and allow to set for 10 minutes.
Preheat oven to 425 degrees. Line 12 muffin cups with papers or spray muffins pan well with pam spray.

Add to the oatmeal the sugar, oil, orange zest, and egg and mix well.

Mix together the flour, baking soda, baking powder and cinnamon and the nuts then add to the wet mixture. Stir just long enough to combine.

Carefully stir in the one cup of blueberries and mix gently. Spoon into the baking cups, sprinkle the tops with the remaining blueberries. Bake at 425 degree for 15-18 minutes or until golden brown. Remove from oven and allow to cool on a cooling rack and enjoy!

DSC_0123DSC_0130

Meg

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Michelle permalink
    08/17/2011 2:40 pm

    Hey Meg –

    Saw your hubby’s post on fbook (we worked at Cashman yonders ago). Love your blog! You mentioned you are challenged with overfilling. I love this gadget, its called a cupcake pen – I got mine at Bed Bath and Beyond – all of my cupcakes have been close to perfect and rounded.

    http://www.google.com/products/catalog?hl=en&gs_upl=11366l11366l2l11587l1l1l1l0l0l0l0l0ll0l0&bav=on.2,or.r_gc.r_pw.&biw=1440&bih=744&q=cupcake+pen&um=1&ie=UTF-8&tbm=shop&cid=332271366553740364&sa=X&ei=tkJMTuSaCoPkiALouNV8&ved=0CEoQ8wIwAQ

    Happy Baking,
    Michelle

  2. 08/19/2011 5:22 am

    Thanks for stopping by! I actually have something that I use to fill when I use a runny batter, but this might be a new gadget that I need!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

