Skip to content

Rose Cake

08/15/2011

DSC_0106

I love looking at cakes. I can easily spend half the day going through site after site of nothing but cakes and recipes. I had seen completed versions of this “rose” cake all over cake central, figured I could do it too and gave it a shot.  Without a doubt the easiest cake I have ever done!! Usually the frosting and decorating is what takes all the time, but this one came together in about 30 minutes!!

This cake was for my mother-in-law’s birthday. She is always telling me not to do anything baking-wise so that I don’t have to do any work. But, I love to do it and had to do a little something for her birthday.

The cake was a strawberry cake with buttercream frosting. I was so excited when I found this recipe. Most strawberry cakes start with a mix. But, this one is a scratch recipe that is easy and gets nothing but raves!

DSC_0173 (2)DSC_0174DSC_0175 (2)DSC_0177 (2)

A really easy cake to make—didn’t even use a  mixer. You can use fresh or frozen strawberries. Add in some sugar, oil and powdered gelatin and you have got yourself a cake. It bakes up nice and even and is easy to layer.

DSC_0103

DSC_0105

I layered up the cake, put the buttercream between the layers and crumb coated the outside. It just had to get a light coating since the whole thing was going to have rose swirls around it. I used a larger star tip—I don’t think it was my super jumbo ones, probably just the wilton one that I have. I started at the bottom, making the rose swirls all around the cake. Once I had the whole this frosted, I put it back in the fridge so that the frosting would harden up and not slide off. I made smaller roses to fill in the gaps and it was ready to go!

DSC_0113DSC_0116DSC_0117DSC_0122

I am so glad that I tried this cake. The technique is super simple and can be done by anyone. Next time, I will try some of the color sprays to really make the rose swirls pop. This is a fun cake to make, looks great,and the best part—it tastes great!! It will be sure to get ooohs and aaahs from everyone!! Enjoy! Smile

Strawberry Cake

makes 2 8 inch cakes

Ingredients

2 cups Self rising flour, sifted

3 eggs at room temperature

1 cup vegetable oil

1 cup sugar

1 pkg. strawberry jello

1/2 cup buttermilk

1 cup strawberries, pureed

Directions

Pre heat the oven to 350. Spray the cake pans with a non-stick spray (I use Baker’s Joy) .

Sift the flour in a bowl and set aside.

Puree the strawberries and set aside.

In another bowl beat eggs, then add oil, sugar, buttermilk and strawberry gelatin. Stir until well blended.

Add flour mixture to the liquids and whisk until just blended.

Fold in the pureed strawberries and mix until blended.

Divide the batter between the sprayed cake pans. Bake in a 350 degree oven for 20-30 minutes. Cool in the pan for about 10 minutes and then turn the cake out on a rack to cool completely before frosting.

DSC_0111

Meg

4 Comments leave one →
  1. 08/15/2011 9:40 pm

    Lovely nozzle-craft!
    Cake with jello in it? I’m scared by this! Does it taste as good as it looks? Xx

    • 08/16/2011 8:12 am

      Don’t be scared of the jell-o! It really does taste delish!! thanks for stopping by! 🙂

  2. 08/21/2011 3:51 pm

    Just had to say this cake looks great and really professional 🙂

Leave a Reply

