Skip to content

Basil Aioli

08/19/2011

I know I don’t usually post savory recipes on here, but this one is too good not to share (at least for the 12 folks out there that read my ramblings)!! At the very end of this month’s Southern Living was this recipe. I just happened to have a bunch of basil in the fridge and knew immediately that I wanted to make this.

DSC_0132DSC_0133

I loooove basil. I love the smell, the taste, and even the way it looks. Mix it with some mayo, garlic and lemon and it makes it even better! I am always seeing foodies shows making fancy mayo’s and thinking that I wanted to try one. And it really is as simple as whisking a few things in the mayo and waiting for it to chill!

DSC_0136DSC_0137DSC_0138

Basil was chopped by rolling the leaves up and slicing. I usually leave chopped garlic in bigger pieces, but for this, I wanted very fine bits. I crushed it almost to a paste and then chopped it as small as I could. I didn’t measure the zest—I just eye-balled the amount using about 3/4 of a zested lemon. Remember to always zest and then juice.

Add to that the chopped basil, mayo and dijon mustard and the spread is ready to go in the fridge to chill. It smelled so good that I could hardly wait to try it on a sandwich!!

DSC_0160DSC_0162

This really makes a delish spread. It turns a boring turkey sandwich into a lunch time treat that you look forward to all morning. I was actually excited to have lunch because this is so yum! I am even planning on adding some sour cream and tomatoes to it and using as a dip for parties! Enjoy!! Smile

 

Basil Aioli  (recipe adapted from Southern Living-July 2011)

Ingredients
  • 1 cup mayonnaise
  • 1/4 cup minced fresh basil
  • 1 garlic clove, pressed
  • 1 teaspoon lemon zest
  • 2 tablespoons fresh lemon juice
  • 1 teaspoon Dijon mustard
Preparation
  • Whisk together mayonnaise, basil, garlic, lemon zest, lemon juice, and Dijon mustard. Cover and chill 1 hour. Spread on tomato sandwiches, drizzle over sliced tomatoes, or toss with chopped cooked chicken and diced celery and spoon into tomato shells.

 

Meg

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

