Skip to content

Blueberry Bruschetta

09/05/2011

DSC_0304

I have seen recipes all summer long with blueberries. With Labor Day being the unofficial end of summer, I wanted to try a simple and easy blueberry treat.

I stumbled upon this recipe a week or so ago on a site called RecipeGirl. I don’t even know what I was searching for, but I am so glad that I found her site. I have found a million things from the site that I can’t wait to make!

I saw the picture first and once I read the ingredients, I knew that this would go into my “gotta make” pile. Puff pastry, cream cheese and blueberries…can it get any better?!?

DSC_0292DSC_0286DSC_0288DSC_0290

I started off with a slab of puff pastry that had been thawed. I rolled it out a little more to get the creases out. Make sure the work surface is dusted really well with flour or it will stick like crazy. Once I had it rolled out, I brushed it with an egg wash and sprinkled the whole thing with the cinnamon and sugar mixture. Leave a little edge around it so that you have a nice seal all the way around the roll.

DSC_0291DSC_0294

Take the long side of the dough and roll it up in a log. I didn’t make mine very tight, but it can’t be too loose or it won’t stay put while it bakes. I am glad that I remembered to use a silpat. The sugar and cinnamon made a mess that would have been near impossible to get off the cookie sheet. They came out a great golden color with perfect cinnamon bubbling out. As soon as they came out, I used an off-set spatula to flatten the tops down. Some of them get a poof and they need to be flat to put the toppings on.

DSC_0293DSC_0295DSC_0296

The topping for the bruschetta was cream cheese, powdered sugar and a touch of lemon juice. I changed it up a bit. I added lemon zest…it goes so well with cream cheese and berries. I also added more juice and sugar than it called for. Wanting a little more cream to the mix, I scooped in about half of a tub of mascarpone cheese. This was a delicious tart topper. It would go with anything!

 

DSC_0298DSC_0301

I used a pastry bag to pipe on the filling. It was so good that I really had to resist piping it in a spoon and just eating it out of the spoon!! Then came the good stuff—the berries. It just doesn’t get much better than pastry, fresh berries and cream. Even though it is a blueberry dessert, she made the suggestion to use other fruits as well. I had strawberries and loved the idea of having a red, white and blue dessert.

DSC_0309DSC_0311

I so loved this little dessert. The puff pastry was crunchy and the cream and berries were sweet and tart all at the same time. It was a great summertime dessert—it was light and fresh and easy to eat. We had my folks out and I had this for dessert and it was a hit with the fam. I will definitely be making these again. I can’t wait to have them on a dessert buffet. Because the tarts are so crunchy, they don’t get soft once you put the cream cheese on. I even had some today that had been in the fridge and they tasted just as good as the first day. These are a  pretty, easy to eat and tasty little fruit dessert that will make everyone happy! Enjoy!!

Blueberry Bruschetta  (recipe adapted from www.recipegirl.com)

Ingredients:

1 large egg
1 Tablespoon water
1/2 (17.3-ounce) package Puff Pastry sheets (1 sheet), thawed (I used 2 sheets)
2 Tablespoons granulated white sugar mixed with 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon (I used 4 Tbsp sugar and 1 tspn of cinnamon for both sheets of dough)
6 ounces cream cheese, softened (I used 8 oz cream cheese and 4 oz mascarpone)
1 teaspoon freshly squeezed lemon juice (I used 2 tsp and the zest of one lemon)
1/4 cup powdered sugar, sifted (I used a heaping 1/3 cup)
2 Tablespoons whipping cream + more, as needed (I omitted this altogether)
1 cup fresh blueberries, rinsed and patted dry

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees F. Beat egg and water in a small bowl with a fork.

2. Unfold the pastry sheet on a lightly floured surface. Brush the pastry with the egg mixture. Sprinkle with the sugar-cinnamon mixture to within 1/2-inch of the edge. Starting at a long side, roll up like a jelly roll. Press the seam to seal. Cut pastry roll into 20 (1/2-inch) slices. Place the slices, cut-side down, onto 2 baking sheets. (I got about 14 cuts from each roll)

3. Bake for 15 minutes or until the pastries are golden brown. Gently flatten the hot pastries with a spatula. Let cool completely on baking sheets on wire racks.

4. In a medium bowl, use electric mixer to combine cream cheese, lemon juice and powdered sugar. Mix until smooth. Add whipping cream to thin out the mixture. Mix until creamy and well-combined. Add additional whipping cream, if needed, to create a spreadable consistency.

5. Assemble dessert bites: Pipe a generous swirl of the sweetened cream cheese mixture onto each of the baked puff pastry rounds. Top with fresh blueberries.

 

DSC_0314

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

DSC_0305

 

 

Meg

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

