Skip to content

Apple Chips

10/11/2011

DSC_0725

I like apples. I like chips. Why not apple chips?!?

Apples are everywhere now. Fall is always full of apples and pumpkins—they fill up the grocery stores and are their recipes are pretty much everywhere you look. I was pages deep in pinterest the other day and saw a pin for apple chips. I ran right out and got me some apples.

I am always a fan of dried fruits. I usually talk myself out of buying them since a four ounce bag of dried fruit can be about five bucks. So why not make them, right? I mean, it really doesn’t get any easier than slice and bake.

DSC_0702DSC_0703DSC_0704DSC_0707

The first time I made these, I used only red delicious. I think they are my favorite. The next time, I added granny smith and gala to the mix. I liked the different flavors but think that the red delicious makes the best chips. They have just the right sweetness to them. I cored the apples and sliced them with the mandolin…I wanted the slices to be even. They went on a parchment lined sheet and were sprayed with a little canola oil. Give it about 3 hours and you have yourself some tasty chips.

DSC_0711DSC_0729

I loved these. I can’t believe that I hadn’t thought about making them before now. I guess that whole working thing kept me busy and didn’t leave me too much time to think about fruit snacks. Smile I can’t wait to make more of these. They make a great snack for a healthy munchie, and would go even better with some caramel dip. Enjoy!!

 

Apple Chips  (recipe adapted from www.vittlesandbits.com)

  • 4 large apples, cored (I thought Red Delicious were the best)
  • canola oil spray

Preheat oven to 225 degrees.
Thinly slice apples crosswise about 1/8-inch (2 mm) thick with a mandoline or sharp knife.  Arrange apple slices in a single layer on two parchment-lined rimmed baking sheets, and spray with canola oil cooking spray.
Bake in the top and bottom third of the oven until apples are dry and crisp, about 3 hours. Remove from oven and let ‘chips’ cool completely before transferring to a sealed container for up to 3 days.  Makes about 2 cups of apple chips.

DSC_0733

Meg

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

