Skip to content

Apple Pie

11/08/2011

DSC_0905

Hubs put in a request last week for a pie. We were just sitting around watching tv and he started talking about wanting  a pie—an apple pie. In all of my baking adventures, I have only made pecan pies…never a fruit pie. Eeek. To the cookbooks I went.

My mom makes an awesome apple pie. It is piled high with apples and has a crumb topping. Did hubs want that pie? Nope. He wanted a double crust apple pie. Yikes. Double crust. Sounds scary.

I found a super yum sounding recipe in my Dorie book. When I read it again, it required a few things that I did not have. So that was out. Up next was the Junior League cookbook. Not one apple pie. Third times a charm, right? Southern Living to the rescue. Found a classic double crust pie recipe and went right to work on it.

 

DSC_0890DSC_0891

DSC_0894DSC_0893

First thing I need is a pie crust. I always use my mama’s pie crust. It is easy, comes together quick and is pretty much fail proof.  The flour and crisco is cut together with a pastry cutter. Then the water is added and I stir it all up with a fork. Can’t be easier. When the dough comes together and doesn’t stick to the bowl, it is ready.  I usually wrap it up and let it sit for awhile before I roll it out.

 

DSC_0892DSC_0895DSC_0896

Next came the apples. I used up an eclectic group of apples that I had shoved in the fridge. I had some granny smith, honeycrisp, and gala. They were peeled and cut into chunks and topped with the good stuff. The apples were mixed with some lemon juice and zest, sugar, cinnamon and a little flour. I used my hands to mix up the apples and make sure everything is coated and ready for pie.

 

DSC_0899DSC_0901DSC_0902DSC_0903

I rolled  out the crust and piled all of the apples in the pie plate. For the top crust, I used my tiny apple cutter to make the vent holes. It went on top and I sealed the two crusts, making a fold around the edge. I had enough crust to make some tiny leaves. These went around the top edge of the pie…really just to make it pretty. Smile

 

DSC_0932DSC_0927

I brushed a little egg was on top and sprinkled some white sugar on top before it went in the oven. It baked for about an hour and then cooled until it was still a tad bit warm before we dug into it. Apple pie is such a classic—apples, cinnamon and sugar…hard to beat.

You see them out in the stores now that Thanksgiving is coming up. I know that those are quick and easy and cheap, but maybe this will be the year to bake from scratch. This really is an easy pie to make…and homemade is always better than what the store makes.  Make one for you and yours today!! Enjoy!

Apple Pie  (recipe from  The Ultimate Southern Living Cookbook)

Ingredients

  • pastry for a double crust 9-inch pie
  • 6 cups peeled, chopped apples (I used granny smith, gala and honeycrisp)
  • juice of half a lemon
  • zest of one lemon
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup packed brown sugar
  • 2 Tbsp flour
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 2 Tbsp butter
  • 1 egg yolk, lightly beaten
  • 2 tsp coarse sugar

Directions

  • Roll half of the pie crust to 1/8 inch thickness. Place it in the pie plate and set aside.
  • Combine the chopped apples with the lemon juice and zest. Top with the sugars, flour, cinnamon and nutmeg. Mix all of the ingredients well, making sure that all of the apples are completely coated with the mixture.
  • Spoon the apples into the pie crust and dot with the butter.
  • Roll remaining pie crust to 1/8 thickness and put on top of the pie. Trim off excess pastry along the edges. Fold edges together and crimp.
  • Cut slits in top to vent the pie. Brush pastry lightly with the beaten egg and sprinkle with the coarse sugar.
  • Cover edges of the pie with foil to prevent sides from getting too brown. Bake at 450 for 15 minutes. Reduce heat to 375 and bake for 50 minutes more. Remove from oven and let cool down on a wire rack. Serve warm or at room temperature.

DSC_0936DSC_0939

Meg

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

