Skip to content

Acorn Spice Cakes

11/17/2011

DSC_1025

Fall is definitely my favorite time of the year. The leaves change, it gets cold outside and acorns are all over the ground. I have always loved acorns—I don’t know why. They are so cute and I love seeing them all over the ground. When I saw this acorn cake pan, I knew I had to have it.

I wanted to make a spice cake. I had it on my to-bake list, but had never made one. This cake came out delicious. It was moist and had just the right amount of spice in it. Paired with the cream cheese, it was even better. I will say that the next time I use the acorn pan, I will have to go with a thicker cake. I was thinking that a pound cake with the added spices would be perfect—just so that the shape of the acorn was more defined.

 

DSC_1009DSC_1010DSC_1012DSC_1013

This was another easy cake to make. No alternating of dry and wet, just mix and dump. The sugar and kayro were mixed until it was extremely smooth. Add the eggs and mix until it blended. At first, it will look curdled, but keep mixing and it will smooth out. The flour and spices go in and you have a thick mix. Pour in all of the buttermilk and it is ready for the pans.

 

DSC_1014 I sprayed the pan with Baker’s Joy. I always use that spray when I am baking because it has the flour already in it. The pan said to use a tablespoon to fill each acorn. Too much. The first pan came out with an edge of cake around it. I wanted to just have the acorn shape and not extra, so I cut it down for the next pan. I used a 2 teaspoon to fill and cooked them a little longer. The came out brown and perfectly shaped. I just need to use a thicker cake for the next time so that the acorn has more definition to it.

 

DSC_1019DSC_1016DSC_1017DSC_1018

The cakes cooled on a rack. I paired up the sizes and had them all lined up waiting to be frosted. I used my cream cheese frosting and spread a tiny amount on one side. Then they were sandwiched up and put on the rack to set up for a minute. You can find the cream cheese recipe here (if you use this recipe, you can scale it down and use 1/4 of the recipe). I stored them in the fridge overnight before they went into the office.

 

DSC_1021DSC_1028

The little acorn sandwiches were put in paper cups and shipped off to work with hubs. I popped a couple in my mouth for breakfast and they were even better cold, right out of the fridge. The spice cake was great and I loved the acorn shape—perfect for fall. I will definitely be making spice cupcakes soon. It would even be great as a layer cake, or loaf cake with coffee. Enjoy!!

 

Spice Cake      (recipe adapted from www.kayro.com)

Ingredients

  • 1 cup Karo Corn Syrup
  • 3/4 cup butter
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 3 eggs
  • 3 cups flour
  • 1-1/2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 2 tablespoons pumpkin pie spice   ( I used 2 1/2 tsp cinnamon, 1 tsp each of ginger, allspice and nutmeg, and 1/8 tsp cloves)
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1-1/2 cups buttermilk

 

Directions

  • Preheat oven to 350°F.
  • Cream together Karo, butter and sugar in large mixing bowl.
  • Add eggs beating until light and fluffy.
  • Stir together flour, soda, spices and salt in small bowl.
  • Beat flour mixture into mixing bowl with butter mixture.
  • Stir in buttermilk and mix well.
  • Pour batter into two greased and floured pans.
  • Bake at 350°F for 35 to 45 minutes, depending on pan size—for the acorn pan, it was 10-12 minutes
  • Remove from oven and cool on wire rack.

 

 

DSC_1020

DSC_1032

 

Meg

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

