Skip to content

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Bars

11/23/2011

DSC_1046

This time of year, pumpkin is everywhere. It, along with turkey, is a Thanksgiving staple. Pumpkin pie, cheesecake, muffins, bars…the choices are endless. Something I have seen a ton of this year is pumpkin and chocolate. It is everywhere. Giving in, I decided to give the weird sounding combo a try. Well…not all combos are winners.

I don’t know if it was the spice mixed with chocolate, or just the pumpkin flavor being messed with, but these bars were just not a winner for me. I loved the spice flavors and the pumpkin taste, but the addition of the chocolate chips killed it.  Now I know that I don’t care for the combo and can stop wondering. Can’t win ‘em all.

 

DSC_0941DSC_0943DSC_0947DSC_0948

 

A super easy recipe to make, it came together in minutes. The dry and spices were mixed up. Butter and pumpkin went for a spin in the mixer and then the dry went it. The last thing to go in was the chips. I mixed them in by hand and then popped the mix into the pan and in the oven. The original recipe called for this to be more of a brownie and cut into bar shapes. I had this new bar pan,so I went with it.

 

DSC_1051

While I was not a fan of these bars, you may love them. If pumpkin and chocolate is your thing, then these bars are for you! I am not one to just give up on a recipe that was not a hit for me. I will totally try these again next pumpkin season, but there will be no chocolate chips mixed with pumpkin for me. I have been wanting to try it and now I know that it is a no go for me. If you like the combo then bake away! Enjoy!!

 

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Bars   (recipe adapted from www.bakeat350.com)

2 c all-purpose flour 
1 & 1/2 tsp cinnamon
3/4 tsp ginger
1/2 tsp nutmeg
1/8 tsp allspice
1/8 tsp cloves
1 tsp baking soda
3/4 tsp coarse salt
1 c unsalted butter, room temp
1 1/4 c sugar
1 egg
2 tsp vanilla
1 c pumpkin puree
12 oz chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350. Line bottom and side of 13×9" pan with foil, leaving an overhang on all sides.
Whisk together the flour, spices, baking soda and salt.
Cream together the butter and sugar on medium-high until smooth. Beat in the egg & vanilla. Beat in the pumpkin puree (it will look curdled…do not worry).
Add the dry ingredients and mix on low just until combined. Stir in the chocolate chips.
Using an offset spatula (or the back of a spoon), spread the batter into the prepared pan. Bake for about 35-40 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean (or with a few crumbs, not batter). Cool completely in the pan.

 

DSC_1049

Meg

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

