Skip to content

Christmas Cookies

12/26/2011

DSC_0111

Baking is a huge part of the holidays. I love to try new things every year, but my standard treat is always cookies. I have always done the butter cookies, but have changed up the frosting a bit in the past year.

I love the buttercream type frosting that I used to used, but this one dries hard like royal icing but tastes waaaaaay better! Easy to make and easy to pipe, this is now my go to cookie frosting.

 

DSC_0102DSC_0105DSC_0106

The cookies are mixed, rolled and cut out in shapes. I usually do that one day and the the frosting the next. When icing, first I outline all of the cookies. Then I flood the middle of the cookies. Last thing to do is any extra decorations like the stripes on the candy cane.

Make sure to have the icing thick when doing the outline. Thin it out with more corn syrup to do the flooding of the middle of the cookies. I always use a squeeze bottle to do this part. I is much easier than using a pastry bag because it will not run all over the place. When they are all iced, I leave them on cookie sheets over night to dry.

 

DSC_0112DSC_0113

The lime green trees got little white pearls as their decorations and the dark green trees were topped with multi-colored sprinkles.

 

DSC_0011

 

DSC_0020

 

DSC_0021

I love doing these cookies. They are work and take me forever, but are still my fave.  I can’t wait to get going on the next round of holiday cookies. I hope that you will start some holiday memories of your own with these cookies! Enjoy!!

The cookie recipe is here. Just roll them out and cut them instead of using the cookie gun. Smile

The icing recipe is here. So simple and tasty.

 

Meg

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 12/27/2011 2:52 am

    AWESOME cookies! So gonna steal that icing recipe – I love the pretty cookies and Syd loves to ‘paint’ her cookies as well – each one is a new canvas as far as she’s concerned so this will be right up her alley!

  2. 12/28/2011 10:26 am

    thanks! I love how they come out shiny and dry hard! The icing is super easy too!! can’t wait to see syd’s cookies!! 🙂

  3. 01/03/2012 4:07 am

    Wow! Really like how your cookies – it has got that very bright and cheery feel to it 🙂

Leave a Reply

