Skip to content

Christmas Tree Fondant Cupcake Toppers

12/27/2011

DSC_0110

I decided to take in cupcakes for our holiday lunch at work. Not wanting to just have a plain cupcake, I figured that I would dress them up a bit. I was searching around for cupcake toppers and found something like this on etsy. Knowing I could easily make them, I went to dig out the fondant.

DSC_0094

The first thing ya need is red circles. I used all fondant for these simply because I didn’t want to fool with the gumpaste. I did them three days before I needed them, so they had plenty of time to dry. I rolled it out and used a round cutter that was about the same size as the cupcake.

 

 

DSC_0095

I rolled out the tree and base a little thinner than the red. For the tree, I used my medium triangle cutter to cut a bunch of trees.

 

DSC_0097DSC_0098

For the tree base, I used a darker green and cut out squares. I cut each square into five little strips. I just used the cutter to mark the strips and cut them with a pizza cutter.

 

DSC_0099

For the star topper, I rolled out my yellow fondant to the same thickness as the tree. I used my teeny tiny star cutter. It was the perfect size for the top of the tree.

 

DSC_0100DSC_0101

I used the little white pearls as lights on the tree. I poked them down in the tree to make a spot. Then I brushed the spot with water and put the pearl back. The water holds the ball in place so that it doesn’t roll around on the tree.

 

DSC_0107

DSC_0109

I had the circles dry on a cookie rack for a couple of days. Having them on a rack allows air to get to the whole thing and get it good and dry. Once they were dry, I used water to assemble all of the pieces. Make sure you use just a touch of water. Too much and it will ooze out and make a mess.

These were super easy to make. It took about 2 hours to get everything rolled and cut and put together. They came out cuter than I pictured and were fun to make too. Hope you have fun dressing up your cupcakes!! Enjoy!

 

DSC_0117

DSC_0121

 

DSC_0125

 

 

Meg

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 12/27/2011 5:34 pm

    These are truly adorable!

  2. 12/28/2011 10:24 am

    thanks! 🙂

Leave a Reply

