Skip to content

Yarn Wreath

12/30/2011

DSC_0130

Having a lot of time on your hands and the crafty gene can lead to all kinds of fun things. One thing I decided to whip up was a yarn wreath. I had seen them all over pinterest and knew that I could make one. All I needed was some yarn, a wreath, ribbon, glitter and way more time than you think. Smile

 

DSC_0004DSC_0050

I had two of the rounded wreaths, white yarn, ribbon and glitter balls all ready to go. And, of course, you need a glue gun. I will say that I thought I would just put this together in less than an hour…nope. This little project was a two-dayer for me. I am sure I could have done it in one, but I got so tired of sitting and wrapping the yarn around.

Pick a starting point and glue it to the wreath. Keep wrapping around and around…and around until you have the whole wreath wrapped. Mine took so long because I wanted a single layer and to have it wrapped tight. If you want to have lots of layers, you can wrap it much faster.

 

DSC_0048DSC_0049

Once I had the wreath wrapped, I went on to the yarn balls. I found these great foam ornament picks from the dollar tree. I pulled the stick out and popped off the top and they were perfect to use for the yarn balls.  I wrapped the big and medium ones in the green yarn that I had. I wrapped them until they were the size I wanted for the wreath. Be sure to stop and glue the yarn as you keep wrapping it—that way if you drop the ball the yarn won’t completely unwind.

 

DSC_0051DSC_0052

When all of the green balls were wrapped, I hot glued them to the wreath. Make sure you like the place because there is no moving them once the glue is set. I used three green yarn balls and filled in the gaps and space with the medium and small red glitter picks. I did have to patch the hole that the stick left with some red glitter before adding them to the wreath.

 

DSC_0054

I was super happy with how the wreaths came out. I used a red ribbon to hang them from our doors on the patio. I loved making these and will definitely try some more yarn projects. Even though I used red and green for Christmas, you can use any color of the rainbow to make yours. Put on a movie and get to making your wreath! Enjoy!!

 

DSC_0058

 

DSC_0055

 

Meg

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

