Skip to content

Ruffled Gumpaste Flowers

01/16/2012

DSC_0973

This past year, I went pretty simple for my birthday cake. I did my red velvet with a new frosting technique. I did decide to top it with some ruffled gumpaste flowers. I had seen these simple, yet pretty flowers on a few cakes and figured I could do it too. Turns out it was as easy as I thought.

 

DSC_0954DSC_0955

I used circle cutters to make the different sizes for the flowers. I used the pointy tool to thin out and ruffle the edges. I used the small ball tool to push down each petal. With a dent in the middle, it makes it easier to stack the petals and have them fit together. Once each one was ruffled and dented, they were set aside to dry.

 

DSC_0953DSC_0960

DSC_0961I used a mix of shimmer dust and color powder to paint the edges of the flowers. Just brush it on and blow off the excess dust. When they are all colored, I used water to stick the petals together. You just have to find out where they will touch and paint a little water to the petals so they will stick. I let them sit overnight so that they were good and set.

 

 

DSC_0974DSC_0997

Other than taking a few days to put it all together, these flowers are probably the easiest gumpaste flowers to make. I made them three days before I needed them to make sure that they were rock hard and would sit on the cake correctly. When it was cake time, I arranged the flowers on the cake. They were the perfect touch for a simple cake. I loved how these cam out and can’t wait to get my cake business going in our new home!! Enjoy!

 

DSC_0977

 

 

     Meg

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 01/17/2012 5:27 am

    Thanks for sharing! Really think you did a good job there with the gumpaste flowers 🙂

  2. Ms. A. permalink
    05/24/2012 8:11 am

    it’s beautiful. how did you pipe your icing on this one?

Leave a Reply

