Skip to content

Chocolate Buttercream

02/18/2012

DSC_0125

I have never really made a chocolate frosting. I almost always do a regular buttercream. I have made a chocolate swiss meringue that was unbelievable, but never a powdered sugar based frosting. I wanted something new for hub’s cupcakes, so I went a searching for a new frosting. So glad I found this one!!

I think that the key to this frosting is the whipping of the butter. I normally use the paddle attachment for frostings, but this one called for the whisk. o.m.g. It was silky and smooth and quite possibly the perfect chocolate frosting.

 

DSC_0105

DSC_0108DSC_0109DSC_0110

 

I was all excited that I got to use my new digital scale to weigh the chocolate—used 12 ounces that I melted in the microwave and let cool to room temp. The butter was whisked into submission until it was creamy and fluffy. The powdered sugar was added in and then in went the melted chocolate.  I kept whipping until it was completely mixed and ready to go on the cupcakes.

DSC_0111DSC_0126

I am so in love with this frosting. It is creamy and smooth and has the best chocolate flavor. You might think that on the chocolate cake it would be too much, but it is such a light and whipped frosting that it would go great on anything. The folks in hubby’s office loved it and the teachers I work with raved over them. Give it a try the next time you need a delish frosting—you will want to make it everyday!! Enjoy!!

 

Chocolate Buttercream (recipe adapted from www.browneyedbaker.com)

Ingredients

3 cups (6 sticks) unsalted butter, at room temperature
7- 7 1/2  cups powdered sugar, sifted
3teaspoon vanilla extract
12 oz. bittersweet chocolate, melted and cooled

Instructions

 Using the wire whisk attachment of an electric mixer, whip the butter on medium-high speed for 5 minutes, scraping the bowl if needed.

 Reduce the speed to low and gradually add the powdered sugar. Once all of the powdered sugar is incorporated, increase the speed to medium-high and add the vanilla, mixing well.


Finally, add the melted chocolate and whip at medium-high speed until light and fluffy, about 2 minutes, or until all of the chocolate is well incorporated.

You can store any unused buttercream in the refrigerator in an airtight container; let it come to room temperature and then give it a quick whip in the mixer before using.

 

DSC_0131

 

Meg

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

