Skip to content

Mud Pie

02/24/2012

DSC_0179

Last week we had a week long dessert fest. Cookies for Valentine’s, pie for hub’s birthday, cupcakes with the work folks and a cake with the family. Talk about a sweets overload. Come Sunday, all I wanted to do was sleep off my sugar coma.

So, hubs tells me that he wants a mud pie for his birthday. A what? I had never heard of a mud pie. Away to Google I go. After about ten minutes, I had found a zillion different kinds of this pie. Who knew? I guess I was the last one to the mud pie party.

 

DSC_0099DSC_0101DSC_0102DSC_0103

Any dessert that only has three ingredients is a winner in my book. Ice cream, fudge sauce and cookies is all it takes for this ice cream deliciousness.

I crushed the oreos and mixed them with some melted butter. I was patted into the spring-form pan and went in the freezer.

I plopped about a jar and a half of fudge sauce in the bottom of the crust and back in the freezer again.

I had the ice cream soft and piled it in the fudge cookie mix. And—you guessed it—back in the freezer. If your ice cream is too soft, you may want to wrap foil around the outside of the pan so that it doesn’t leak all over the ice maker. Smile

 

DSC_0104

Before it was set, I swirled some fudge sauce on top of the ice cream and then put the rest of my cookie crumbles on top.

This whole pie should have set up for about 5 hours or over night. Our freezer is not the best and the 3 hours that we had it in the freezer was just not enough. The first piece of this we had was in a bowl.

 

 

DSC_0169DSC_0172

This was a super tasty pie. I love coffee ice cream and the combo of the coffee and chocolate was rad. If you are not a coffee fan, I think that any flavor ice cream would go well with this. Well, almost any flavor—probably stay away from the fruit flavors. And bubble gum. Anywho…

Make this pie the next time somebody wants an ice cream treat that is delish and easy. I will definitely make this one again. Just writing about it is making me want a slice right now! Enjoy!!

 

Mud Pie

Ingredients

  • 3 cups cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookie crumbs
  • 1-1/2 teaspoons sugar, optional
  • 1/2 cup butter, melted
  • 1/2 gallon coffee ice cream, softened
  • 1 1/2  jars chocolate fudge sauce

Directions

  • In a small bowl, combine cookie crumbs and sugar if desired. Stir in butter. Press onto the bottom and up the sides of an ungreased 9-in. spring-form pan. Refrigerate for 30 minutes.
  • Spread a layer of fudge sauce on the bottom on crust. Freeze for 30 minutes. Spread softened ice cream on top and top and freeze for 1 hour. Drizzle more fudge sauce and cookie crumbs to finish the pie.Cover and freeze until firm.
  • Remove from the freezer 10-15 minutes before serving.

 

 

DSC_0178

 

Meg

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

