Skip to content

Heart Cookies

03/11/2012

DSC_0088

I know that y’all are looking at these and thinking that it is a little late for some Valentine cookies. You could look at it that way. Or you could think that I was getting a jump on next year. Or you could just think that heart shaped cookies are good any time of year. Maybe you have a wedding shower coming up…or a baby shower…or just want tell someone you love them with heart cookies. Cookies are always good.

These are my go to butter cookie recipe. They always come together quickly and are rolled out and cut with cookie cutters. That is the quick part. What takes forever is the frosting of them. They take a goodly amount of time to get finished, but are so worth it in the end.

 

DSC_0065DSC_0079

Roll the dough out on a floured surface and use the cutters to cut out the cookies. I use a metal spatula to put them on the pan and in the oven they go. The cookies usually bake for 10 minutes. I let them cool and then they are ready to be iced.

 

DSC_0081DSC_0082

I outline all of the cookies and let it set. For these, I used pink and red to outline and fill. Once the outlines had dried a bit, I filled in the hearts. To fill them, I take the top off of the squeeze bottles and pour the icing on the cookie. I pour a blob in the middle and spread it around with the bottle tip. This is quicker for me than squeezing it from the bottle. I get it all filled in and pop and air bubbles that come up.

 

DSC_0085DSC_0086

Most of these cookies got a sprinkling of candy hearts or colored balls. You want to let the icing set up but not be hard to sprinkle the candies on. If the icing is too wet, they will sink a little too much. If the icing it too hard, they will not stick. To write on the cookies, the icing needs to be set before you write. This icing tends to spread, so I use a one or two tip to do the writing.

 

DSC_0072DSC_0073

I also do the same cookie but with a sprinkling of sugar on top. They are rolled and cut out in the same way. But before they go in the oven, I sprinkle sugar on them. I love to do the sugar ones. They are cute and even easier that the iced cookies!

These cookies always come out beautiful and delish. The work folks rave over them and we think that they are tasty too! They are easy to make and can be done in any shape and color. Everyone loves cookies so make these the next time ya need a sweet treat! Enjoy!!

The icing recipe is here.

The cookie recipe is here. Just roll  them out instead of using the cookie gun.

 

DSC_0090

 

Meg

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

