Skip to content

Pineapple Cake with Mascarpone Frosting

03/11/2012

DSC_0259

This is the result of wanting to make something sweet and finding a recipe that matched what I had on hand. For some reason I have been wanting pineapple. I made a pineapple cake last week that was so good it went straight in the trash. So…take two on the pineapple cake. This one is a winner. Yum.

It is incredibly easy to make. Flour, sugar, eggs and pineapple and  you have yourself a cake. I was a little worried when I saw that there wasn’t any oil or butter. I figured that the pineapple juice would make up for that and it did. It came together in about five minutes and baked up in about 30. Hard to get any easier.

DSC_0237DSC_0238

The dry was mixed on low. In went the eggs, vanilla and can of crushed pineapple. Once that was all mixed together, I added in some chopped pecans. You could leave those out, but I figured that hubs would like the cake more if it had some crunch to it.

DSC_0239DSC_0240

The cake batter went into a greased 9×13 pan. In about 35 minutes, the cake was done. I baked up golden brown and was springy to the touch. I let it cool in the pan for a bit before I turned it out on a rack  and then to the serving platter.

DSC_0241DSC_0242DSC_0243

I whipped the frosting up while the cake was cooling. I saw a few recipes and just kinda threw stuff together to make this. I used mascarpone, cream cheese, heavy whipping cream and powdered sugar. I mean, how can you go wrong with that combo?? The frosting can be a little lumpy, so just keep mixing until the cream cheese lumps are mixed. I wanted it to be a soft frosting and not something so stiff that it could be piped. It is an easy cake, so I wanted an easy, spreadable frosting to go with it.

DSC_0245DSC_0246

This was a delicious cake. It was super simple to make and is even better cold the next day. The pineapple made it moist and the frosting was the perfect pairing for it. I will so be adding this to the recipe rotation. I can’t wait to try it as a cupcake and maybe add in some coconut next time. Enjoy!!

Pineapple Cake with Mascarpone Frosting (cake recipe adapted from www.bigredkitchen.com) (The frosting is mine!)

Cake

2 cups flour
2 cups sugar
2 tsp. baking soda
1/4 tsp. salt
2 eggs
20 ounce can crushed pineapple with juice
1 tsp. vanilla
1/2 cup chopped pecans

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Mix all of the ingredients together until smooth. Pour into greased 9×13 inch baking dish and bake in a 350 degree oven for 25-30 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean. Cool in pan and then turn out on a rack to finish cooling.

Frosting

5 ounces cream cheese at room temp.
8 ounces mascarpone at room temp.

1 1/2 cups of heavy whipping cream

1 1/2 – 2 cups confectioners sugar, sifted
1 tsp. vanilla

Beat the mascarpone and cream cheese with the whipping cream until smooth and creamy. Add Vanilla. Slowly add sugar and blend after each addition. For thicker frosting, add more sugar. For a thinner frosting, add more whipping cream. Frost the cake while still a bit warm. Top with chopped pecans to finish the cake.

DSC_0251

DSC_0261

Meg

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

