Skip to content

Peppermint Bark Candies

12/21/2012

DSC_0291

I finally caved and made some peppermint bark. You see it everywhere this time of year. Everywhere from Williams Sonoma to Marshall’s and even Sam’s. This year I decided that I would embrace the peppermint.

The past few years have been a little bit of peppermint overload –at least to me anyway. I am  all for a little peppermint here and there, but having peppermint candies on ever thing from cakes, cupcakes, cocoa, to crescent rolls is a bit much.

While scoping out the free samples at Sam’s one day, I got a piece of their peppermint bark. I really only took it to get the other taste out of my mouth. I was surprised by how tasty it was. Naturally I wanted to make some.

I opted for an easier way. I knew I wanted to do a shaped candy and not the typical broken bark pieces. Now I finally had a use for the tree and snowflake silicone molds I bought years ago and never used!

 

DSC_0234

I used a peppermint candy melt for the mint part. I loved this. It gave you the peppermint flavor without giant pieces of peppermints getting stuck in your teeth. The other part was a dark chocolate candy melt. I used the Hobby Lobby brand for that. I can’t say enough good things about that brand—so, so, so much better than the Wilton candy melts.  Then again, most things are better than Wilton. Smile

 

DSC_0235DSC_0236

Melt the candy in the microwave until it is liquid and pourable. If it is too thick, you can thin it out with a little crisco. Spoon a bit in each hole. Tap the whole pan to have the candy spread out and till each hole.

 

DSC_0237DSC_0239

Once the peppermint part was set in the fridge, I poured the dark chocolate on top. You have to spread it quickly. With the peppermint being cold, it will make the dark set up and get hard pretty fast. With all of the dark done, pop it back in the fridge to set up again. When it is ready, they will pop right out of the molds. Easy as can be.

 

DSC_0240DSC_0297

These were great. They were crazy easy and super tasty. The molds made them easy to have perfect portions and cute designs for the holidays. I put them out at work and they were gone in about 10 minutes. If you need a quick party treat, these will be a hit! Enjoy!!

 

DSC_0298

 

 Meg

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

