Skip to content

White Chocolate Chip Cranberry Cookies

12/22/2012

DSC_0164

Yum, yum, yum. These might be my new fave cookie. The cookie part was good enough, but add in white chocolate and cranberries. The best.

I have seen the posts about adding cornstarch to your cookies—something about them being fluffier. I kinda thought yeah, yeah…I like my cookies the way they are. Well, once I saw these on Pinterest, I just had to try it out. Man, they were not kidding. Fluffy, soft with just a bit of crunch around the edge. Delish!

DSC_0144DSC_0147

The butter and sugars are creamed together. I always use pretty cold butter and give it a whirl for awhile in the mixer. I don’t like room temp or too soft butter. To me, it makes the cookies spread too much while baking. When the butter is good and creamy, then I add the sugars and mix until they are smooth and combined.

 

DSC_0149

Add in the white chocolate chips and dried cranberries and you are good to go. Really, you could add anything at this point. I definitely see me trying the basic dough recipe with different add-ins in the future.

 

DSC_0151DSC_0150

I used my small cookie scoop to measure them out. I smooshed the tops down just a bit before they went in the oven. They bake for about 8 minutes and they are all done. They puff up and are soft and chewy. Really a rad cookie.

DSC_0155

I guess all those folks were right. There must be something to that whole cornstarch in cookies thing. These were great cookies. I made them for hubs to take to work. I liked them so much that I made them for my teachers too. They were a hit all around.  Go get the stuff for them and make some today. You will be glad you did. Enjoy!!

 

White Chocolate Chip Cranberry Cookies

 (recipe adapted from www.sallysbakingaddiction.com)

  • 3/4 cup (1.5 sticks) unsalted butter
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar (I used both light and dark—both are good)
  • 1/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 large egg, at room temperature
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons cornstarch
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 3/4 cup white chocolate chips
  • 3/4 cup dried cranberries

Directions:

In a large bowl using a hand-held mixer or stand mixer with paddle attachment, cream the butter and sugars together on medium speed until fluffy and light in color. Mix in egg and vanilla.  Scrape down the sides as needed.  On low speed, mix in flour, cornstarch, baking soda and salt.  Stir in white chocolate chips & dried cranberries. Chill dough (covered) for 30 minutes or up to 3 days. (I did not chill and my cookies came out great!)

Preheat oven to 350F.  Drop balls of dough onto cookie sheet using a standard-sized cookie scoop. Bake for 8-9 minutes, until barely golden brown around the edges.  Do NOT cook them longer than 9 minutes.   Remove and let cool for 5-10 minutes on the cookie sheet.  Transfer to cooling rack. Try not to eat them while they cool. Smile

 

DSC_0159

 

DSC_0160

 

Meg

One Comment leave one →
  1. 12/22/2012 10:20 pm

    Yumm yum yummm these look so good.

Leave a Reply

